Help take care of my 85 year old, lively, active mom in San Miguel de Allende

Country

Mexico

Favourited 136 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/08/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1365

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm a 54 Italian woman. Creative traveller, writer, blogger, live music promoter and agent. I'm now based in central Mexico since a year and half with my 85 year old mom. We live in a very friendly neighborood of San Miguel de Allende, a Unesco World Heritage City, recently voted as the "Best City in the World" by Condè Nast readers... just in case you were wondering why I choosed to move here... while I'm here I write, I give cooking classes and enjoy life in general. But sometimes I need to go back to Italy to work at music festivals or tours and I can't bring my mom with me, so I'm looking for a highly reliable person who would like to help my mom and enjoy San Miguel de Allende and its surroundings, such as the nearby hot springs, Mexican Desert and Altiplano, etc...

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Elderly Companionship

  • Help

    Help

    I will be away in September for 3 weeks. I'd need a volunteer from sept 1st to sept 28 to take care of my mom : she is 85 but very healthy, she does not need any medicine nor medicaments, no special diet. she's very lively, active, nice and funny. She can take care of herself for most part of the day, she needs some meals and some company, say from 1 or 2 pm to 7 or 8 pm, lunch and dinner.
    Normally she wakes up quite late in the morning (around midday) she can heat up her coffee and eat some bisquits or rolls. She would wash and dress by herself and then seats in the patio that we share with our lovely Mexican neighbour, her lovely dog and 2 cats. A hot simple lunch should be prepared at around 1 or 2 pm. then bring her out for a short walk or keep her company in the patio. A hot dinner should be prepared around 7 or 8 pm. then she'll be watching tv and go to sleep by herself. I have a maid who cleans the house twice a week. some friends might come by and visit my mom, I can arrange for Sundays to have friends taking care of her so that you have a day off.
    She suffers of lack of short memory, so she would repeat the same questions forever and not remember the answers. she can't go out by herself or she might get lost, normally she does not do it as she is afraid of going out of her environment alone.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    a private bedroom with bathroom ensuite and a sunny terrace, meals if made by you and consumed with my mom (I will leave money for food supply)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    San Miguel de Allende is a beautiful colonial city, spanish courses are available at the Instituto Allende as well as private languages schools. It's an Artists' place, with many art workshops and Art Galleries. Nearby my house there is La Fabrica de l'Aurora, an ex textile fabric converted in a beautiful Art exhibition place. Nearby there are hot spring-spa to enjoy and many other natural places such as the Botanical gardens El Charco de l'Ingenio, with mainly cactus and agaves plants, birds, hummingbirds and butterflies in a desert like environment.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hrs weekly: 5 hrs a day monday to friday


Host ref number: 585588653951