Horse Stable Looking For Fun, Mature Help in South Muskoka, Ontario, Canada



Favourited 49 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    Hello Lovely People!
    Our Farm is a tidy and organized horse boarding stable with 13 horses. We also have free range chickens and an organic garden. It is situated in South Muskoka on 88 beautiful acres of field, forest , rocks and meadow. The vibe in the horse barn right now is more of a retirement home feel. Most of the horses have done their work and now live out their days here, with the exception of a silly pony. We have trails through the forest and we are home to the famous #SevernBridgeBraFence.

    My name is Heather and I live on the farm with my partner Matt and our baby girl Bronwyn. My parents Vern and Karen are always helping around the farm and you will also meet many of the people who own the horses here. I would like help with daily chores and would love to bang out some small projects that need doing.

    We have been here since 2010 and had to do a complete renovation of our 100 + year old bank barn. The farm was originally a dairy farm that had been farmed by the same family ever since the land was cleared over 100 years ago when Muskoka was first settled.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get to learn...
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️ Farm practices of running a horse stable
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️ How amazing and funny free range chickens are
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️ What goes in to making hay and an organic garden

    You may gain a few new skills or maybe you will get the chance to ride a horse, but you can expect to relax from your tiring traveling. The farm is very calming and your accommodation is a sort of retreat.

  • Help


    *️️️️️️We will start hosting mid May when it is warmer and the accommodation is more enjoyable*️️️️️️

    Some of the work on the farm will be helping with daily chores, such as feeding and watering the horses, and cleaning their stalls and buckets. I have a lot of other projects around that need doing, like painting, building a shelter, cleaning, helping in the garden, trail maintenance, cleaning up some sheds. I also want to make a kombucha brewing kitchen. Oh and of course....... HAY. We cut and bail all our own hay for food for the horses in the winter. Hay season is anywhere from end of June up until August. It is of course weather dependant, as hay cannot be wet. Hay is my life in the summer and it would be great to have a couple helpers work with me.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    This is the best part! You will get to stay at the world renown trailer. It is your own zone away from the farm.
    This is a large trailer, with a double bed, a couch, a dinette, and a working kitchen. It can also sleep more. There is also BBQ and a fire pit. There is no electricity or internet, but you can charge your stuff at the farm and use the internet there. The place was originally my sister's getaway, so she has equipped it with a few fun items like a slack line, hula hoops, hammock, bikes, you never know what you might find. It has an outdoor composting toilet, which might be weird at first. but it will quickly become your favourite toilet ever!
    You will be responsible for cooking most of your own meals. The trailer will be stocked with all the food staples like bread, rice, butter, beans, soups, sandwich stuff, potatoes and more. You will receive eggs from our chickens and any fresh fruits and veggies that are ready from the garden. You may need to purchase extra food that you require, or snacks, but we can always rip in to town for shopping. During hay season my mother always makes a ton of food for the farm and we will sometimes have lunch prepared at the farmhouse.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As we are located in Severn Bridge, you may not think that there is a ton to do, however, with a short bike ride you can get yourself to the river, a store and a snack shop. There is also yoga studio around the corner. You could get into Geocaching if you wanted. With a car you are able to go explore Muskoka and surrounding area. There will probably be a opportunity to come with me to town, or to pick up horse stuff. We can also work out riding lessons or trail riding on our horses, depending on riding experience.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Hours of work will vary according to project. It won't be anything crazy. A big hay day may happen but we will balance it with a day off and a trip to the river ;) Most days will be around 4 hours

The Park in Washago. 6km away
The Property From Above
Inside the Barn
Willy the Pony
One of the many bras hanging on the fence
Some of our girls taking a break on the picnic table
Heather riding in the sun.
Big Hay Party
The Hideout. It has received some upgrades, new pictures soon
Some of the residents

Host ref number: 583882113391