Help create a home in magnificent surroundings of mountains river, forest and fields in Harads, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 113 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/01/2022

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Welcome to the north!
    I recently bought a beautiful house on the countryside viewing the Lule river in the village of Södra Harads, I also just became a mother to a beautiful daughter now 2 months old (in may). I have my hands full of things to do in the house and garden, building, hen keeping, baby cuddling and cooking. I would like to invite you to help us creating a home for us and everyone who visit to thrive in, with magnificent surroundings of mountains river, forest and fields. Be with us and be with yourself. Feel, grow, listen.
    Everything grows organically and if you eat fish there is plenty to catch in the river. Forest up here is also filled with berries and mushrooms to pick and we also have a lot of raspberries and black currant in the garden.

    I'd love the practical help just as much as a good conversation, right now my mind is thinking of things like.. how can a village can become self sufficient from a sustainable cycle? How can the countryside survive and become modern? How can we remember and combine the old ways in the new world? Etc..

    This is a big start of something new for us,

    Welcome to be a part!

    /Sofia and Aurora

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You could learn anything, I'm quite new in all of this growing up in a big city so we will by sure learn together!
    But everything I know I will try to teach you!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    I need help with most practical things. With a baby everything takes a bit longer and some things are impossible doing by yourself. I will drain my house this summer, build a herb garden, a vegetable garden, fix the henhouse, paint, sauna sauna sauna etc..
    You do what the day brings, a house has a million things to do..
    And before you leave, leave an art installation if you like!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Sami: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room.
    There is also a timber cabin in which you may stay in if you would like.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In the closest village lays the famous tree hotel, which you can stay at for one night if you have 4000:- extra to put on accomodation.. If not , there is a guided trip to look at the very artistically designed tree lodges. It's worth the visit!
    A part from that there is old fishing spots with cabins and cafe's to visit. Before the damms the salmon was a huge income for these villages.
    My closest neighbor is a cow farmer so you might just feel satisfied hanging out with the cows when you feel like it.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 583574633566