Help with animals, projects, and the maintenance of our land and cabin in the Lago Rupanco Chile

Country

Chile

new host  

Favourited 6 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/04/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Lago Rupanco, which means "troubled waters", is the lake in where I live alone. The neighbors and I have several projects ongoing - a bridge, water systems (river capture), fencing/ gates, improvement of the communitty dirt road.
    It is a remote sector with no paved roads. Access only by boat and horses.
    I am in charge of a few properties spread over over around 100 acres. We have around 20 young calves. We have all materilas to make one or two greenhouses. The planting season here is generally May and June - it rarely freezes.

    The cabin overlooks the lake and the "Puntiagudo" volcano. It is basic but getting more comfrortable and enclosed; hot water, electricity, internet. About 3 km away there are natural (very) hot springs. If you want to come and have a good time in the countryside, overlooking the lake, enjoy the lake and its surroundings, do not hesitate to contact us.

    I'm looking for people who can build fences, greenhouses, improve roads, water systems, and other tasks - 5 hours per day, 5 days per week.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    It is a very quiet place, with little noise apart from the birds and animals. You can enjoy fishing, natural hot springs, good views, limitless trekking options.
    You will be able to learn about country life in Chile, amials, building, wood harvesting, fencing, spanish, and the wonderful views and nature of southern Chile.
    I´m only able to post 5 photos but if you like we also made a group page for the sector on

  • Help

    Help

    We need people who know how to cook, or to work with a chainsaw, to build fences, greenhouses, gardening, knowledge of water systems/ roads - in general builders - a "homo faber" who can make things work with what we have in a rural environment where it is not quick nor simple to get more materials delivered.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The cabin includes a double bed, serves well for one person or for a couple, there is also a room where 3 people can sleep. In practice we can accommodate up to 8 people. We have a spacious bathroom with shower and hot water, a wood stove that serves as a kitchen, refrigerator and pantry. But because I am new to this I would prefer to only receive a mximum of two people so we don´t have a shock. However, if one of the persons arriving would be taking charge of all meal service, then I would be open to a larger group of 3 to 5 people.

    There are 3 meals a day, breakfast, lunch and dinner. We have noodles, rice, legumes, milk, oats, cereals, tea, coffee, etc. Typical Chilean food. Often we have lunch with the neighbor who is a great cook.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    For transportation there are established schedules for the public ferry and the bus that arrives at Puerto Buey.
    Access is not "difficult", but it does require a degree of focus and patience. You have to coordinate with the schedules, and public options are not available every day of the week.
    To the nearest city it is approximately 2 hours of travel to the city of Osorno, but it could be 3 or 4 hours depending on the route and how well it is planned. Buses to/ from Entre Lagos and Puerto Octay are also feasible but, only at very specific hours/ days of week.
    Very good place to be quiet, relax, enjoy good barbecue, nature walks, waterfalls, streams, swim/snorkle in the lake, spend time with animals, etc. I highly recommend it for those who want to get away from city life and monotony.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 582435415346