Help with DIY near Castelnau-Rivière-Basse, France

  • Favourited 6 times
  • Last activity: 26 Feb 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Hello there ! My name is Esther. I bought a farmhouse and some land in total need of renovation in 2021 and am hoping to turn it into a little princess palace surrounded by nature. I have the architect plans, I have the permit, I have yet to find an available builder in the area. Everything has been cleared out and cleaned up, the water and electrics are off, and now I really need some help! I have a house up the road to host with a proper shower, bed and warms meals. The existing house is in need of complete repair so it’s not pretty and it’s not for the faint of heart. I live in a beautiful area with opportunities to go canoeing, hiking, and wild-water swimming. The elements here are wonderful.
    I have no television or wifi. I will need 2-3 weeks advanced notice of your arrival. Thank you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can speak either English or French and can help give you the information you need to explore the area.

  • Help


    DIY, building new structures, taking down old stuff, gardening, clearing.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    Bedroom with ensuite

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I am about 90 minutes from the Pyrenees for mountain hikes. We have wonderful rivers and lakes here to swim in or to go canoeing and lots of pretty little villages or town markets to visit. Summer time here is gorgeous.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have plenty of space for caravans, campers and motor homes but facilities are rudimentary ! Only an empty field and a river.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 582284754525


Renovation of lodges and gardening at an eco-place in Provence, France
Smallholding with horses in the beautiful and tranquil Mayenne, France