Enjoy woodcutting on an 18 acre property of Yukon forest in a mountain valley. Near Whitehorse, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 91 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My home is an 18 acre property of Yukon forest in the mountain valley used by the Alaska Highway. At 75km from the Yukon's only city, Whitehorse, it is relatively close to the terriotry's hub, yet has a rustic, remote feel and is very close to a wonderful river for canoeing and great mountain country- one can plan hikes simply looking out the window at peaks up to 7000’. As the sole owner of this property I could use help with firewood cutting and transporting, seasonal maintenance, dog care (3 older huskies) and other home based projects.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Animal care
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn some of what the northern forest has to offer. In the forest we harvest firewood and milling logs. I am a wilderness guide and know my area very well. I would be happy to take you canoeing or skiing, depending on the season. I am good at tailoring the outing to the participants ability and to the season! I love sharing the beautiful land I am so lucky to call home. My dear Yukon husky dogs are my constant companions on all outings and around the home so if you love dogs they will love you back!

  • Help

    Help

    If you love being in the woods doing simple physical work, I think you will enjoy woodcutting with me. I operate the chainsaw then the fun begins! Stacking, packing, splitting, burning brush (in winter), pulling the wood to the house on toboggans, making trails. Other outdoor work includes helping me set up some large tarps, clearing brush around the house and continuing to improve the workshop/sawmill area. If you have woodworking skills or interest there are lots of projects to choose from such as building shelves, installing trim, prepping for the installation of a recycled (from an old high school gym) hardwood floor. My son and I have a sawmill at the property and thus have the satisfaction of using our own trees for woodworking projects.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room in log home heated by wood cookstove. The home has running water and a shower, but no toilet! This is to say that it has a grey water system but no septic. There is an outhouse - another Yukon cultural experience. There is wifi internet and a land line phone but no cell service. The wood cookstove is the heart of the house as it provides heat and stovetop cooking and an oven. The wood you cut cooks your food!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This site would be suited to people who wish a break from the city to spend some time in the woods. I will be in and out during your stay. It is likely you will be working with me about half the time and on your own the other half. When I am around we share the house. Of course I will greet you and be there for the first few days. This is my primary home, however I also maintain a residence in Whitehorse as my kids attend high school and college there.
    Ideally you want to spend your days off canoeing or hiking or skiing as that is where I can offer you something quite special. You could also enjoy some of the arts and culture of Yukons thriving capital: Whitehorse. I can help with transport if you don't have a vehicle.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week









Host ref number: 581452635755