Come and spend time with us at our home in the hills of sunny Marbella, Andalucia.



Favourited 181 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    54.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
  • Description


    Jac is a cyberartist, Internet pioneer and European entrepreneur. I'm a former TV journalist and I'm currently writing a series of novels. We love it here because it's such a wonderful and inspirational environment, bathed in sunshine, looking out to the sea. We're renovating our charming Andalucian villa - we're refurbishing it inside and out, and we love sharing the space with new workawayers. If you have a creative project you are working on it could be a good space for you to develop your ideas. We're happy to give you any help we can - or feel free to take space to do your own thing, enjoying the inspiration of the environment.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our home is within walking distance of the beach and Marbella town and it's fairly easy to get around Andalucia from here. Seville, Granada, Cadiz and Malaga are all well worth visiting. The weather is wonderful and the people are extremely welcoming and warm. If you want to explore Southern Spain, taste the laid back Spanish lifestyle, and improve your language skills you're in a great location to go out and explore. I'm a writer and Jac is a cyberartist and we are both happy to help you with any creative projects you harbour - Jac also runs an internet company he can help you with your web presence. For language practice - Jac speaks fluent Spanish, French, English and Polish, I was trained as a BBC Newsreader some years ago and people still love practicing English with me! I'm learning Spanish. If you prefer to do your own thing, that's good too - feel free to take some space and do your own creative work, be it writing, painting, writing music or whatever - we find the environment is conducive to creativity.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Hello, my partner Jac and I need help renovating our beautiful villa in the hills of Marbella in Andalusia, it's a traditional Andalucian-style Finca and it's quite run down and in need of lots of loving care.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Our home has a garden, you can see both mountains and the sea, the garden looks out to Gibraltar. You can pick lemons and tangerines from the garden and there's plenty of space to relax with three terraces and we have a private swimming pool to enjoy. You will have your own room, we're happy to accommodate a couple. We are both vegetarian and you're welcome to help yourself to food in the house, we will cook for you when we're cooking and we're happy for you to cook too.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Andalucia is a wonderful region and Marbella is well located on the Costa-del-Sol as it's within easy reach of Malaga to the east and to the west you have some wonderful natural beaches - Tarifa, Cadiz, Seville and Granada are all well worth visiting. The town itself is easy to navigate and you have everything you need, there are loads of cafes, restaurants, bars and clubs while it's also popular for health and wellbeing. You can run, or cycle along the coast and there are plenty of yoga and fitness groups. The neighbouring town, Porto Banus is famed for it's designer shops and luxury living. Marbella is renowned for its sunny climate as it's surrounded by mountains and has a micro-climate, nature here is wonderful, the sunsets are often stunning, the trees and plants are quite tropical and it's a really interesting natural environment. There's a vibrant international community and it's easy to meet people.
    Our home is in East Marbella, about two-thirds of the way up a small mountain. I use a push bike to get around as well as local buses, or I walk many places. The local buses go into Marbella (about half an hour walk) and from there coaches run regularly to locations all over Spain.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.4)

Communication: (4.8)

Host ref number: 581385559753