Help with repairs at our home from destruction of hurricane Maria in Dominica

Country

Dominica

Favourited 67 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/06/2022

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! My family and I are all travelers, we love understanding new cultures and partaking in endless adventures. We are currently located on a beautiful Caribbean island called Dominica aka nature island. My girlfriend and I just relocated here to help my mother rebuild her home and guest home after a record breaking hurricane destroyed the island 2 years ago. Unable to obtain assistance from the government she has been living without electricity and a roof for the past two years and only recently has begun to make progress towards regaining comfort in her home and in her life. After coming here to visit on vacation my girlfriend and I couldn’t bear to leave my mother in such a devastating situation so we decided to stay with her and help rebuild as much as we can. Plus opting to stay in a country filled with waterfalls, rivers, hiking, diving, snorkeling and whale watching was an easy choice. Our funds are limited and so are our skills so we are looking for people like ourselves that are willing to help out while partaking in the endless adventures this beautiful island can offer.

    Ps. We currently have electricity and half of a roof.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a family of French, American, and Dominican cultures living in the Caribbean! We can show you the unique nature island lifestyle, help you find your own island adventures, as well as exchange information Language and share cuisine from our own personal heritage and Backgrounds.

    Our home is located in pointe Michel, a beautiful area of the island equipped with our own private pool, views of the Caribbean ocean, two dogs and lots of laughter. We are a 15 minute drive from the capital city of Roseau where you will find grocery/souvenir shopping, restaurants, nightclubs, and culture!

    The island is home to some of the best hikes in the world, the second largest boiling lake on the planet, 9 active volcanos, 365 rivers, tons of waterfalls, unique sulphur baths, and year round whale watching . Finding adventure and connecting with nature won’t be an issue, not to mention we are all Dominica travel agents and can guide you along the way!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We’re looking for people just like us who are traveling and exploring the beauty of the world, while lending a helping hand. We are always working on new and current projects that include, painting, landscape, electrical, gardening, carpentry, and general maintenance

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We are offering one private single room equipped with a bunk bed and a private functioning washroom. The bunkbed can accommodate two adults the bottom bunk has a double mattress and the upper bunk is a single. The washroom has a sink, toilet, and shower. The accommodation is located in the upstairs apartment of the house, the apartment is undergoing repairs (which we need help with) but we have created a livable space for volunteers.

    We will provide food when we are cooking, (mostly vegetarian, and at least once a day) we will allow full kitchen access downstairs if you decide to eat on your own.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is nature island, there are endless activities to engage in, there is local transportation a 7 min walk from our home.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 579818935595