Come and take care of our place in Portsmouth, Dominica

  • Favourited 58 times
  • Last activity: 27 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi everybody,
    We are urgently looking for a couple/ family who wish to stay in our house during our absence ( June- August). Great opportunity to enjoy Carribbean spirit ! More details on priv.please. Decent English is a must !

    We are Leila, Anna and Gaspar, a Polish / French couple with a 4 years old daughter, living up the hill of Portsmouth. This is where we're making our home, the lush rainforested island of Dominica. We are creating a ferrocement dome surrounded by vastly cultivated organic garden.
    So, bring your positive energy to play with our daughter, and help with daily life.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    During your stay you will be able to learn alternative construction techniques that are relatively easy, very resilient to extreme weather conditions and what is important you can 'do it yourself'. As we are both diving instructors it will be our pleasure to show you the underwater world of Dominica. You will enjoy not only the pristine Caribbean waters, but also various hot springs, waterfalls and rivers. *Please note that at the moment we do not have full equipment to go diving with you, however we can join you and go diving with local dive center ( 2 dives would be around 110$). We know plenty of good spots for freediving!

    There are not many places like this left in the World, where the jungle is still as thick and as untouched by human. A garden of Eden that supports thousands of plants and animal species. The jungle is our pharmacy, our grocery shop, and our home supplies. Our local friends help us to understand how to live at peace in harmony with nature. Last but not least, you will be a part of our team to share the knowledge about a wide concept of permaculture.
    Join us and enjoy the vibe!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Polish and french native speakers are mostly wanted for creative play with our 4 years old daughter. Kids lovers, early education teachers, outdoor activities lovers, martial arts masters, music players..
    Apart from that, we mainly need a hand for daily community life like cooking, cleaning, feeding rabbits and making bread.
    Of course, contact us if you are a férocement freak, carpenter, talented artist, kinesitherapist, massage therapist, or mechanic ! ;)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are a trilingual family, speaking Polish, French and English. Always looking for practice and improvement.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    As we recently moved to our place, at this moment we can offer a tent with mattress and beddings. Compost toilet next to the house, an outside shower. There is also a natural warm pool few minutes from our place.
    Breakfast and dinner (vegetarian* occasionally fish) will be prepared in our house. We are happy to provide locally based plant food during your working days. If you are big coffee drinker or dairy lover, please contribute.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Dominica has countless natural attractions and wonders. The longest hiking trail in the Caribbean called Waitukubuli is made of 14 segments, nearly 200 km long. One of the most magical hike leads you to the Boiling Lake! From the natural hot springs to the countless waterfalls, from the coral reefs to the wild rivers, the nature is limitless. The Caribbean sea is within walking distance and offers great snorkeling sites.
    Come and enjoy a spice rum at the rasta bar on the beach, meet up with the Kalinago, one of last natives of the Caribbean or take part of Mas Domnik, the local carnival.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 538487129235

Feedback (5)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.6)

Communication: (4.8)

















Help build our family home and learn about eco construction and organic farming in Calibishie, Dominica
Hidden Gem garden and feeding the goats in Belles, Dominica.