Renovation skills welcome and general help in the Belgian Ardennes, Belgium.

Country

Belgium

updated  

Favourited 60 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello,

    Renovation skills welcome in the Belgian Ardennes. Visit four Countries within 70 minutes!
    (If you count Belgium as one, you can be in Germany - the beautiful city of Trier - in about an hour and ten minutes after nipping into France and driving through Luxembourg.)

    Ideally located for International Exploring and Local Escapades; friendly, easy going and unintrusive English hosts offer fully self-contained accommodation in the picturesque heart of the region, free use of an old Mercedes, wifi, and a full fridge.

    We're a trio; myself, Paul, Millie my Wife, and Gustav our no-bother dog, (unless you're a cat, sadly). I've been asked to mention that the girl on the stool is Millie, not me.

    We're mostly English - the dog, who is Bi-ligual, is Belgian, we can converse in French as well.
    We've been here for the last eighteen years or so.

    As an aside, I was once demonstrating some new to me technology to Gus; it was a mobile phone with voice dial. I'd just noticed the feature and thought he'd be impressed - I'm not normally a showy bloke, but I was impressed and felt sure he'd feel the same. I put the phone in front of him and he responded with a bark - yes, I agreed, marvellous thing, whatever next? Next was a voice from the phone, and yes, it was the vet! I once met a chap from Australia who confided in me that he was writing a book on coincidences, and of course, I told him I was as well; anyway, I wish I'd kept his number.

    The village goes by the name of Herbeumont: will give an insight, and tripadvisor gets closer. Google earth shows nature of the place very nicely.

    It's a small, picturesque and tidy village fifteen minutes from France, three quarters of an hour from Luxembourg and just over an hour from Germany - Trier (google for more) . Close-by, within the village, there are dozens of scenic walks, trails, cycle -paths a 12th Century Fort and magnificent views. Not too much further are the towns of Bouillon - Crusades, Castles and fine grog - a superb historic town, well worth a google for more info.
    Florenville, (google) Neufchateau and Libramont are close-ish by; not too much farther into France is the old town of Sedan. (30 minutes), (Suggest google) the Maginot line, as far as it went, and about three quarters of an hour away is Verdun. Along the road is Bastogne, centre of the Battle of The Bulge, (suggest Google - I have to make these suggestions as the inclusion of any weblink is automatically rejected by this site, sorry)

    Millie is bright, alert, happy, enthusiastic and a natural hard-working organiser; she laughs a lot, knows a lot of things without being a know-all and is a great person to be with.
    As for Paul, well, I'm affable, I've been known to get my priorities wrong in terms of work and play, but I'm no trouble. We are not evangelists in any direction - the nearest thing I get to Organic is my Donor Card.

    Gustav is a fine, well-mannered fellow needing little apart from the opportunity to catch food lobbed towards him in a gentle arc from anything between three and nine feet.
    I have to confess that not only do we eat meat, but drink beer and wine, though any visitors wouldn't have to feel obliged to do either, and our consumption is, relatively speaking, moderate.

    Accommodation is completely self-contained in the house next-door to ours, the fridge will be full of whatever you choose, the linen will be changed; heating, water and electricity are also included. Your accommodation is the left side of the house - I have cut the Ivy (see image)!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Apart from free food and drink, accommodation, warmth, conviviality and a great location, not much unless you count swapping travel stories, familiarisation with the idiosyncrasies of English and the English and meeting some fine neighbours and chums. There will be as many guided tours of the region as required, including trips to Germany, Luxembourg and France as well as local highlights which bring four cultures into contrast. I'll explain as best I can the game of Cricket, what real Trainspotting is to an older British Lad, and why no English sentence is complete without 'Thank You' half a dozen times, an equal number of apologies for something which clearly isn't your fault, frequent references to the weather and a word about Princess Dianna. I'll also do my best to explain points of view on Brexit. We can listen to, read and watch UK BBC News and do my best to explain the logic behind the decisions.

    Visitors will be able to drop into either permanent living or a visit to the UK better prepared, I can explain about how to deal with awkward topics like how to queue and when to give way at junctions, and why that a cars horn is only sounded at very special moments.

    Guests will be left to themselves as they wish, and will have their own key and front door, TV, wifi, a full fridge and logs aplenty - and the unlimited use of daft old a car.

    I also have an old steel boat which always needs something doing, as well as sitting on, taking grog, and doing nothing for long periods - rain or shine.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    We're in the process of transforming our house.
    The skills we need include Masonry, Carpentry, Roof Repairs, Plumbing/Central
    Heating and some Electrical skills or advice. Sometimes, just lending a hand with whatever is happening. It won't be a regime, just a helping hand with projects.
    there also an old Kotter boat which needs sprucing-up and the addition of a few solar panels - and messing about on, of course.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Completely self-contained.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many, many rich and varied options available from this small hub.
    of Bouillon - Crusades, Castles and fine grog : well worth a google and many a visit. Florenville, Neufchateau and Libramont are close-ish by; not too much farther into France is the old town of Sedan. (30 minutes), the Maginot line, (40 minutes) - as far as it went, and about three quarters of an hour away is Verdun for anyone interested in one of the longest sieges in modern warfare, along the road is Bastogne, centre of the Battle of The Bulge. Google and wiki are well worth a look for these places.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 367127825911