Come and help our busy family of five near Nelson, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 18 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/06/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 5 living on a beautiful lifestyle block in Hira, just outside of Nelson.
    Annika (34) from Germany, Luke (43) from the Shettland islands and our kids Ada (8), Tyne (6) and Piper (3).

    Our property is a 1.75 ha permaculture project with 5 chickens, 4 alpacas and 2 dogs.
    We just finished two barrel houses that we rent out regularly and always have some new projects going on.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have a very productive garden and orchard in one of New Zealands most beautiful areas. We make our own natural products like deodorants & lip balms, hairwax or handcreams as well as beeswax wraps. I can teach you how to bake sourdough breads and preserve many of our fresh products in creative ways.

  • Help

    Help

    We always need clean and mature people with general housekeeping, childcare and gardening skills to help keep the ship afloat. We are looking for people who are proactive, can work on their own and don't need constant supervision. Workawayers have to be at least relaxed around children, any further experience is a plus.

    Furthermore we need:
    - someone with arborist experience, who can help us with the removal of trees and branches from overfences and other sensitive areas.
    - an artist, who could paint a mural on our new kitchen-, and showerwalls.

    Please specify in your application what task you are applying for and how you think you can help us.
    If you have any cool ideas in mind, please pitch them to us, we are always open for new stuff.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workaways can stay in a brand new, fully equipped modern caravan with shower, kitchen, a king sized luxury mattress and a really cozy couch area with cool lighting and many helpful details.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Having both travelled extensively we understand what exploring New Zealand is like, so we can provide you with many useful tips for your journey. You will find a plethora of interesting things to do while visiting Nelson, such as swimming on our world class beaches, exploring the Nelson markets, trekking in Abel Tasman Nation Park, visiting the untouched beauty of the Marlborough Sounds or go for a Wine tour around the area.

    I will happily take you on a trip to Nelson (10km) here and there, but having your own means of transportation is definitely an advantage.

    If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact us!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 576859551455