We are a family of four striving to sustain ourselves through our farm! golden BC , Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 29 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    HI! we are a family of four striving to sustain ourselves through our farm! We also love to climb, bike and head to the lake on hot weekends, making it hard to get everything we wish to do done. My husband runs a small mill as well as a wood lot harvesting and cutting wood for our farm and custom orders for clients. Currently all of the meat we eat is grown in the family! We are working on the vegetables, hoping to build a root cellar this year. We sell vegetables at the local farmers market in golden BC and are expanding our gardens each year. We need help! we have a new garden area that needs a lot of love this spring and all the gardens need continuing maintenance all season long. As well as building a root cellar we are planning on extending our gravity feed irrigation system and build a wash house. With raising animals, there is always work involved maintain pens feeding etc. For more info check out Autumns Harvest on Facebook.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live on the south side of the Columbia valley on 40 acres of land bordered by forest and mountains with plenty of hiking opportunity. The Columbia Valley is home to the one of the largest wetlands in North America and on a hot sunny day, the best way to spend it is floating down the Columbia river enjoying the mountain views and many bird species. We are keen travellers ourselves and with farming don't get the opportunity to travel as much as we like, having workers form around the world, help us to get pieces of other cultures in to our world as we share our culture with them.

  • Help

    Help

    Most of the work will be in the gardens, amending soils, prepping and maintaining beds, and washing and prepping vegetables. With some small building plans for the summer we'd love to find some people with carpentry experience, and there is always fencing and work to do on our house. We have two children and if we found someone that loves to hang out with kids, child care is always welcome so I can spend some more time in the garden. The most important thing for us, is getting help from people with energy and positive attitudes!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some spanish and our cohost speaks german

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We provide campers for our visitors, with internet at the main house at certain hrs daily. Breakfast is typically self serve to provide each other with space in the morning, lunch will be here at the farm on work days and dinners will be split between here and there.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Typically we will provide a set work schedule so you can plan your time off well and have free time be your free time. Rides will be provided to town definitely once a week if not more, in the past people have biked to town as well, we do our best to provide bikes. There are many recreation activities and we do our best to get you out there to enjoy this beautiful area.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 576853334455