Come and help us with Toddler minding on the Caribbean, Santa Marta



Favourited 58 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges


 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

  • Description



    We are Jack, Jean and 17 month old Lucy, and CousCous the cat. We moved out to Colombia from Britain 6 years ago and have settled on the north coast, in a rural area just outside the well known Caribbean town of Santa Marta.
    With our partners we have embarked on converting an old farm house and it's grounds into a small hotel.
    We are based on three hectares of land, surrounded by fruit trees, rivers, mountains and so much wildlife.

    It is a beautiful part of the world we now call home and we look forward to welcoming someone into this busy little home.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We would love to exchange our English and Spanish with your native language. Our neighbours are very friendly Colombian always willing to interact, as are the locals in the town.
    Within this rural small hotel development there is the chance to bring to the table any gardening or building skills you have, or learn ones from us and the locals.

  • Help


    We would love an energetic & positive person to be little Lucys play buddy on the property!
    Lucy is a smart, healthy, super cute, and very active 17 month old so your role is to play with her, encourage vocabulary, allow her to entertain you, read with her, listen to her, swim in the pool with her, feed her, put her to sleep......mainly have fun with her. And of course change napies!
    Time with Lucy will mainly be during the day as Jack and I concentrate on the development of the hotel, but there may also be some childcare evenings.
    You will also need to be with her at meals times and also prepare some of her meals. Jack is a chef so prepares delicious meals, but he wont always be there so cooking would be part of your role too.
    Childcare experience is essential. Spanish speaker would be a bonus but not required.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Spanish

  • Accommodation


    You would join us living on the property in a private room with bathroom. Your room may change location at times as we develop but we will always make you as comfortable as possible. We provide food for all meals within the weekly shop, sometimes you may be preparing food for just you and Lucy, sometimes for just you, sometimes we will cook and all eat together.
    As a family home we have all the basic needs, bathrooms and washing machine!
    The property is large with plenty of space to have quiet private time, and in an area where you can explore on foot.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is so much to do in this area.....most of it nature based......Lost City Trek, surfing, Tayrona Park, Cienaga Grande, diving, coffee plantations etc etc. Bus and Moto taxi transportation is very accessible and affordable.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 575944284725