Help on a hobby farm near Midland and Penetanguishene, Canada



Favourited 119 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
  • Description


    my name is Fran and i am a senior lady who has a 50 acre scenic farm very close to the little towns of Midland and Penetanguishene,both nestled in bays on Georgian Bay..The area is mostly for cottagers and tourists as it is about 1,1/2 hours north of Toronto via the 400 highway..Thousands of people come up here in all seasons to enjoy the fresh air and get away from the hustle and bustle of the city.
    i am retired from teaching school and keep myself very busy here with doing hay,chores,gardening,fencing,and taking care of five paso fino horses. I have had horses all my life and finally decided that the gaited paso fino horse was the best horse in the whole world.
    i used to do breeding here with my stallion and some mares but unfortunately the horse business has slowed I am down to five..i used to do Bed and Breakfast with horses and would like to go back into it but I need some help...
    in the winter it is beautiful here..there is skiing and skidooing close by and the property has lots of trails for house has a nice woodstove which keeps the room in the basement very warm..i am a good cook and enjoy main work in the winter is blowing snow with my tractor and feeding and taking care of the horses..i can speak and understand quite a bit of german and the same with parents were from Vienna and I have a great love of music. i play the keyboards..and i also would like to paint it would be very nice to have someone to help to give me some time to do the things I have not been able to do...I would welcome two people here to help and to enjoy their company..

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help


    this is a hobby farm,not a real working farm,altho i still must mow and bale hay and fix fences..i keep a very tidy organized property here and i'm very proud of it...i would really appreciate a person who can use a chain saw, a splitter, drive a tractor and a cat loader..if possible..i have lots of trees and i need help to cut wood for the next winter...i also have a vegetable garden and can vegetables..

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    i have an extra bedroom with a queen size bed and also a large room in the basement with a king size bed,couches,desk,etc..all is very nice and clean and roomy...

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    i do not mind taking volunteers around the area to see the beautiful beaches,marinas,tourist sites..There is Sainte Marie Among the hurons close by which is a historical tourist spot which shows real life during the time of the jesuits..There are several museums,art gallery,shops,malls,tour boats which go out into Georgian Bay,..Wasaga Beach is about an hour away,the town of Penetang and midland is about five and ten minutes away...there are several theatres,bars,libraries,and always something going on for the tourists..

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 572747442188