Help us caring for animals and other creative projects on an island in the fjords of Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/04/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    54.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 17 days

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, my name is Morten and I live on a small farm on an island in the fjords of Norway. I have a fiancè from the US that travels back and forth, a friend staying here this summer. and more visiting. In my past I've gone workawaying on different farms but the depth of my knowledge is lacking so there is a lot of trial and error kind of learning going on here. Sabrina, my fiancê is an painter and a yoga teacher and a super chill person to be around.
    I believe in reusing and repurposing old materials and furniture and I want to create as little trash as possible, but still a little way away from my goals.

    We are living in what used to be the barn and that was converted to a place for people back in the 70s, then abandoned around 2008. In 2020 we took over and starting transforming the place into a livable space again.
    The livingspace has running water, electicity and high speed internet.
    You will have your own private compartment upstairs for sleeping.
    If you prefer living outside there are several places to camp around the property.
    There is a lot of quiet here, but we are also sharing the place with two pigs, Erling and Midninght, about 33 hens and two roosters. One of the roosters, Raymond is sometimes an early riser, but luckily they live down the road.
    A kitten will also be arriving the farm during summer, name unknown.

    The property is about 15 000m3 and its about 500m from the ocean where we have a rowboat with a small engine that needs some fixin'.
    There is also a large greenhouse involved in the project that is about 5 minutes drive / 10 min bikeride away.

    So the idea would be 3 hours work and one daily task like cooking, feeding and giving water to the animals, dishes, fishing, og food forraging in exchange for shelter and food. There will aslo be a weekly cleaning day with a celebration afterwards.

    There are many activites to choose from on the farm and I also welcome your insight and creativity to come up with your own missions.

    A main goal for the summer is to get some order back into the greenhouse so that we can reach all of the blackberries that sprouts around August. The task here is cutting branches and making the berries accessible.

    Apart form the greenhouse, we also have bikes that need fixing, trenches to be dug, plants to care for, raised beds to be built, we need some air channels to be built for cooling the sleeping place, art to be created, trees to be pruned, structures to be built, a boat to fix and much more. Except when there are time sensitive missions you get to choose your own work and on what to spend you energy.
    I'll be a guide when needed and I'll join in on activities when I can.

    Looking forward to hearing from you !

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    It is a calm place where you can breath and relax. There is nice nature around and the ocean is close by. I like sharing stories, playing games, cooking and reflecting about life. Producing food and caring for the animals is something that I'm learning myself and I'll share the knowledge that I got and it would be fun to learn togehter or be thaught more myself.

  • Help

    Help

    Whatever skill you have will have a good influence in the project.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Norwegian bokmål: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I'm willing to teach Norwegian, but I'm no language teacher.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying in the same house as us. I have a double bed that is closed off from the hallway by a wall and a curtain. The roof is like 185 cm high in some areas but for most it will not be a problem. There are three hangout locations inside and several possibilities outside

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Fishing, hiking, reading, diving, swimming, take the boat into Stavanger for a sightseeing, playing cards or games...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Good and stable 75mbit fiber internet connection. If you are making money off the internet connection it would be nice with a donation towards the internet bill :)

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is some space that needs to be prepped for campervans, in the beginning you would be able to park in the drivevay while preparing a more permanent camper space.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    As long as the go along with the other beeing on the farm I'm all for animals. Curious to see what animals people will bring.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hours a day, 5 days a week + one daily chore that we rotate


Host ref number: 571953224747