Come and help at Spacious Huerto in Carcaixent, Valencia

Country

Spain

updated  

Favourited 28 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    English guy, retired early to move to Spain. Living near to Carcaixent in the Valencia region in a 1920 Farmhouse and orange grove. House is in very good condition and only needs small repair jobs and some re-decorating. Currently there is not a lot of furniture so help with furnishing would also be useful.

    This finca is 2 km from the nearest railway station. The area here is very flat so great for cycling, but also just a short drive to the mountain areas. Valencia city is 40 minutes, very easy on the train and plenty of beaches within a 30 minute drive. There is a bike and I am happy to make some road trips to explore.

    My main requirement is to turn this place into a more comfortable home whilst working on my intermediate Spanish so am looking for anybody who can help a little with decorating and small projects. No special skills required...!

    I am not good at cooking or eating, so you will want to do your own thing in the kitchen probably. Feel free to cook for me if you want to. Basic food and drink is provided of course, along with the accommodation.

    Key rules are safety and health. No risky activities and basic good hygiene like keeping the place reasonably clean. Smokers are not very welcome, I'm afraid... sorry.

    Overall this is a very tranquil place being among the Oranges. I am very easy going and open minded person and there are no expectations other than that listed above.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn a little about citrus farming and local town life in the Valencia region. Visit local towns and old cities such as Xativa, Alzira and Valencia with their historic roots. Relax and enjoy the tranquility of the area and take occasional trips to the costal towns such as Cullera, Tavernes & Gandia with their spectacular beaches.

  • Help

    Help

    Light help in the orange grove picking fruit, clearing leaves, weeding etc. Indoor help is mainly cleaning, minor repairs, decorating and help with furnishings

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double room & private bathroom.
    Sharing the kitchen, dining room and TV room.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    2 Km from nearest town and railway, but very quiet and rural amidst the orange groves.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Fully fenced property .. good for dogs

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 571516519556