Help to renovate and maintain a house in Valmiera and apartment in Riga, Latvia

Country

Latvia

updated  

Favourited 358 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    41  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/08/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    794

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    UPD JUNE 2020:

    Help in city Valmiera starts in July 15 - you are welcome to join us in July, August and most probably, September, for an exciting workaway experience in Valmiera. Renovating a house and turning it into a co-working space.
    There is always a bit of work in Riga Erasmus apartment too, just write me which option and dates suit you the most.
    Looking for friendly, hardworking, reliable and positive helpers! Skilled people most needed but we are very happy to greet everyone willing to help!






    OLD OFFER BELOW:

    I would offer to stay in the same apartment (Riga city center) while its being organized (no heavy construction work so its pretty clean) and meals three times per day (feel free to join in or take over the cooking sometimes). Depending on the work, the help would be 5 h/per day, with a weekend off, but I am rather flexible so this can be all talked over.
    The weekends might be a bit busy but then I can compensate with a weekday off or something. In the best case if you can help me out during the entire project and have several days off at the end.
    I expect my workawayers to be rather flexible and I will respond with the same.

    The apartment is located in the very center of Riga so it makes it easy to access and provides some great opportunities to go out, have fun, also do some sightseeing during the day. I live just downstairs so I can offer amenities like washing machine, internet etc.

    To sum up some of the things which need to be done:
    - cleaning (windows, carpets, washing lamps etc)
    - light painting, decorating
    - moving furniture, helping out with going after it, bringing up (floor 5 !!!:)) - loads of physical tasks
    - installing oven, washing machine, kitchen shelves, other furniture
    - helping on marketing, showing around etc.
    - cooking

    I will be involved in all the tasks myself so I basically need some help and assistance. Working at ease but with a focus on the result :)

    Help to hear from you!

    If you like yoga, we can do some flows together in the mornings. I am trying to practice every day a bit.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am actively involved in the Riga cultural life so I can take you with me and show you around. Also many nice places are within walking distance so feel free to spend your afternoons, seeing around Riga. Of course, you will have a chance to learn about the history of Latvia, the traditional culture and local hipster wibe :)

  • Help

    Help

    I expect volunteers to be able to help out physically, to be able to do renovation work (cleaning, painting, building)

    arrange a flat/house from nothing to living conditions on a budget so help includes assisting me on shopping, carrying, installing, light construction work, cleaning etc. Also looking for someone to prepare the contracts in English and to do some marketing (photos, listings). Cooking skills also welcome!
    We will volunteer in a fun and laid back environment and enjoying the process, but still with a focus on the result:)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Latvian (Lettish): Fluent
    Russian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Staying in both places: very basic shared rooms in Valmiera and a shared apartment in Riga, Miera iela (very hip young people's area)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    VALMIERA - its exploring the town and nearby surrondings. Cēsis is a nice city for culture (30 min bus ride)



    Riga is just below your window! Currently there are some great exhibitions going on, I can help you with some concert tickets (worked in classical music before), I also can help with tips on local sightseeing, bars, etc. Have a spare bike (for quite short people). Old Town 7 minutes away.

    Transport is not needed if you wanna stay around center, but in case if you decide to go to the seaside, the train station is just 5 minute away (around 1,50 EUR one way to the sea)

    I am really happy to help with everything and also take you out if I go with some friends:)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week (flexible)

Marc, Nina and Eli - helpful, active and creative winter workawayers
Me and Carlos (and Jerris) celebrating Latvian traditional midsummer festival, Linda, Ivan and Josephine at the lunch table and Leah on her renovated sofa (such an amazing work)
Some spring cleaning time! The amazing workaway team: Luke (UK), Carlos (Venezuela/Spain) and Joe (USA)
Foodies and friends forever!
Our November 2015 project: before, during the process and after:) Design by the amazing workwayer Odair from Brazil. Super low budget and creative project.
Giant plant logistics by Joe
Andre from Lithuania busy renovating a plant stand and the beautiful golden result on the rightside :)
The result of our last project, done together with two fantastic workawayers

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.0)

Communication: (3.3)


























Host ref number: 334688925492