Family help in North Cork in beautiful Fermoy, Ireland



Favourited 78 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Good Host

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    We prefer to host females - from the 10th March. We are a family of four looking for a big sister to join us. Two adults and 2 girls. Oldest is 5 and our youngest is 18,months. Our 5 year old will be in school from 8.40 -1.30 Monday to Friday. (except schoold holidays) Our 18 month old is a home with me. They are very fun loving children and love to play, talk and be entertained. We live in North Cork in a beautiful town called Fermoy. Fermoy has many attractions close by and has easy access to all cities. Plenty of exploring to be had. We are interested in music, travel, socialising and having fun. We have a piano and guitar in the house and listen to all types of music.
    We recently purchased a campervan and like to spend time travelling in this during the holiday season. We enjoy the outdoors, being by the coast or simply a trip around the woods, or an afternoon in the park.
    We live in a semi detached house in a quiet estate with a dog called Dougie. He is a very relaxed and much loved dog. Although we do smoke it's an electronic cigarette and we use this outdoors. Only in the evening when the children are in bed do we use it indoors.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This will give workaways time to improve their English speaking. They will have time to explore the beauty of Ireland and experience living with an Irish family and the responsibility of running a home and caring for children. Our town resides on the river Blackwater and has many beautiful surrounding countryside. We want our workaway to be part of our family and to make themselves at home in our house. We hope to learn from them as much as they learn from us.

  • Help


    I will require someone to help me around the house with household duties, keeping my home clean and tidy. I will also need help with childminding in particular lifting, transferring in and out of car and shops ect. We like to take an evening to ourselves once a week so will ask you to babysit. This will be decided in advance. I love to cook so am happy to do this myself. I had minor surgery on my back in February and will need help with any heavy tasks that need to be done around the house. My husband is a teacher so finishes work at 3.30 but occasionally works late so we will need you to be flexible.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Accommodation will be a private room with double bed. They will be welcome to eat with us at meal times or whenever they feel hungry. Food will be provided and will be happy to share the experience of cooking together, eating together and sharing our home and friends. We are quiet sociable people but also enjoy downtime. If you are the type of person who likes to spend alot of time on your own then this isn't the house for you. We are a very warm and loving family. We love to listen to music, we have a piano in our house and my husband plays the saxophone. We also have guitars and African drums which we rarely use.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 30 minutes by bus to Cork. 1 hour to Limerick. There are beautiful countryside to explore. We are 30/ 40 minutes to the coast by car. We like to spend time outdoors and often take walks in woods around our area, there is a beautiful waterfall not too far away and trips to the park. We like to cook and socialise at home also. Fermoy is a thriving town on a beautiful river with lovely walks. We are looking for someone who has experience and who enjoys being in the company of children. We need someone who is energetic, fun and kind. You will need to be able to help on your own initiative and become part of our family whilst you stay with us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 322748961994