Exchange help in gardening for good food and good talks near Rennes, France

  • Favourited 1365 times
  • Last activity: 21 Jun 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks



  • Description


    We are producing most of our own consumption of vegetable, cheese and meat (10 sheep, 1 goat, hens, rabbits, turkeys) in a small farm in a nice countryside of Brittany, between Rennes and Nantes, 1 hour drive to sea. We can provide advice and formation in organic gardening and livestock breeding, bread and cheese making, language teaching etc. We try to enjoy life without taking us too seriously! I am an environmental scientist and my wife is a painter, we are interested in exchanging views and stories on many subjects. We also have a piano in want of players. We have a long experience of hosting all kind of people : students, helpers, friends...This is, most of the time, delightful, and when it's not, it teaches you something and makes good stories to tell!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Anna has an experience in teaching French, German and English as foreign languages.
    We can teach the basics (may be a little more...) of organic gardening, bread and cheese making, livestock breeding, self construction...

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Help in gardening (weeding, pruning, trimming, soil preparation...) , animal care, small constructions, general maintenance of the house and tools; help in household...we are very flexible with the time and organisation of the work, but we need persons who do really work. We sometimes also take helpers to take care of the house and animals when we are away.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    Different possibilities of accomodation, depending on the season (one bedroom with private bathroom, some other beds here and there, many nice places to put a tent, and always good food!)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We prefer not to host people with very strict dietary requirements. Vegetarians are very welcome (actually we often cook without meat) but hosting vegans and people with multiple food allergies or intolerance is just too complicated in terms of day to day organization. Sorry about that.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours/day, 4 days/week of real work

Host ref number: 567496469377

Feedback (52)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.9)