Almost off-grid waterfront location, north of Wellington, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 62 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/09/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Come help us on our home and garden renovation projects at our rural waterfront location. We are a family of 4 with 2 sporty fun-loving kids, 2 small dogs and a great community only 30 mins from Wellington along the West Coast.
    5 mins from a lovely village with great amenities. Lots of local walks, rural and sporting activities.
    We have kayaks & bikes, which you can use as part of our family.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Rural living, 66% off the grid, strong community connections, all the pressures of 21C life. It can be done (with a little help).

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Lots of projects to choose from:
    - Garden tidy (approx 1/2 acre), vege planting, tree and bush -trimming, planting, weeding, lawn-mowing.
    - Stone-walling - we have 2 retaining walls we'd like to replace with some nice stone-work.
    - Indoor carpentry projects - bespoke crazy shelving, build bespoke blanket boxes, install feet on a sofa.
    - Build a garage - or install a pre-built one.
    - Help with community service projects through the charity I support.
    - Cook, walk dogs, help around home, sports with kids for a "lighter" day :-)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Modern self-contained guest-house for your respectful use. Shower room, laundry, 2 bedrooms and fully appointed living/dining/kitchen. Outside patio with cafe table & chairs, water views. A GREAT location.

    Shared family meal and time in evening.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Train station 5 mins away , water sports right outside the door, local walks, village with cool cafe, cinema(!!), dairy, beauty salon, bird reserve. Lots of rural activities: horse-riding, cycling, fruit-picking, community fairs, etc etc.
    Best to have your own means of transport.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Permanent access to wifi in the accomodation and the dining table is a great work space.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day per person



Host ref number: 562994799532