Those passionate about agriculture and country are welcome in Ottawa River Valley, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 260 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I like meeting people, and especially travelers that are passionate about agriculture and country living.

    I have enjoyed my own volunteering and interning experiences on different farms & ranches in Canada and USA a lot, and I've learnt a great deal through them, so I'd like to offer people similar opportunities!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Depending on when you come and how long you stay, you will gain experience in fencing for cattle, goats and horses, logbuilding, cattle & goat management (incl. low-stress cattle handling); grass & pasture management; natural horse man ship. Care for pastured pigs.
    Further this is an area rich in music culture with many live-events happening off the beaten path. Also. this is eastern Canada's rafting capital, so there are many opportunities to choose from

  • Help

    Help

    This Ranch is nestled in the beautiful Ottawa River Valley, right where the rich farmlands of the valley give way to the laurentian shield. The southern part of the ranch is mostly pasture, with the northern part reaching into more rocky terrain that is typical for the laurentians. The land borders Long Lake, with beautiful emerald water, that can be used for swimming etc. Gatineau park is just a few miles east, and Ottawa/Gatineau is approx. 80 km away. We graze cattle, goats and horses and have pastured pigs. In the future we may add poultry and sheep. The aim is to produce wholesome, healthy meats. Currently the operation is in the start-up phase. Tasks would include checking, watering, and moving cattle, caring for pigs and horses, brush clearing, fencing, and some small building projects around the yard.

    This growing season 2020 there will be more fence building, and also building a horse facility incl. horse shelter for horse boarding.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bedroom in the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As mentioned above, there many opportunities to experience the beautiful nature, and rich culture in the area. Ranging from hiking or canoeing in nearby Gatineau Park, visiting waterfalls, going rafting with one of the many awesome providers in this area; arts exhibitions, music shows (to watch and some to participate). And Canada's capital Ottawa is only over and hour away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5hrs per day plus chores - weekends chores only

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 334644327613