Help pick this year's huge apple harvest in beautiful Naher Ibrahim Valley, Lebanon

Country

Lebanon

Favourited 678 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    25  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/09/2022

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    The farm is located in the mountains of the beautiful Naher Ibrahim Valley. The house belongs to Raed's family and his wife Joanna is a French architect.
    At the moment Joanna, the children (Nour, 5 and Naim, 2) and most of the time also Raed are living and working in France.

    Hiske, a friend who's from the Netherlands and has been working and living at the farm, is, among others. taking care of the farm in the mean time. She's the one you'll be hosted by and in contact with. She's an anthropologist and permaculture enthusiast with a love for Lebanon, music, herbal medicines, and much more.

    The house is surrounded by an orchard (mainly apple trees), year round we grow vegetables between the trees. All day long you'll have spectacular views over the valley.

    All together we've been aiming to create a place to promote an eco-friendly way of living. Examples of how we're reconsidering our ways of living: we build while using natural materials, increase biodiverisity in the land, we're reducing water consumption etc.

    Since Raed about a decade ago took over the farm from his parents, the orchard was maintained organically, we were the first in the valley to do so. Little by diversified the orchard adding vegetables, berries and animals (chicken, geese and sheep) between the trees. It made a huge difference, the farm nowadays is full of birds, insects, animals and a huge variety of plants.

    Part of our work is to process the products of the garden. We make apple juice (and many other apple products), rose water, arak, liquors, kombucha, jams, tomato sauce etc.
    We sell the products every weekend in Beyrouth's farmer market.
    Joanna has been making some wood furniture and beautiful earth building experiments.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The farm and the life style that it provides is quite unique in the country and even in the world. We're all interested and experienced in social innovation, permaculture, arts, music, and we like to exchange knowledge, recipes, cultural wisdom, etc.
    You will learn about the Lebanese culture and the life style of the mountains; Raed's family is originally from the village. We work all year long with Mhammad and his family who are Syrian and live at the farm. They have a lot of knowledge and experience as well.
    Apart from that you will of course learn a lot about organic gardening, cooking and about eco-friendly building.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    August, September and a part of October will be a vivid harvesting and processing time at the farm. We're planning to have a team of friends, locals and some travelers (workawayers) to get things done, while enjoying good food, music jams, a fire, yoga. We believe that's how farm life could be at it's greatest. We'd like the people who stay with us to work with us about 5 hours per day, 5 days a week. (Saturday and Sunday off).

    Besides the work in the garden (harvesting, planting, weeding, preparing the plots...), and processing (making jam, tomato sauce, drying fruits, making juice...) there are spaces to be developed. People interested in art, design, maintenance, carpentry and construction are very welcome to share their ideas and creativity with us.

    During free time and your days off you can go to Beyrouth, Tripoli, have a hike in the area or even visit other projects and discover the rest of the country.

    We have been hosting for a while now and its really an opportunity for us to travel (through you!) exchange and spend nice moments together.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Arabic: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Many of our friends and colleagues are fluent in Arabic. We're happy to practice language with one's wanting to learn. English and French is being spoken as well.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We've been working on a communal space, including a studio where you can relax. There's a solar shower, two compost toilets and another shared bathroom. There are some places to sleep indoors, and some tents available, up to people's preference we can decide how to accommodate you.

    We'll have lunch all together every day, prepared with organic products of the farm. Meals will mostly be vegan. You can eat and use fruits and vegetables from the garden, and also vinegar, juice, tomato sauce etc. There's a pizza oven and tannour (traditional oven for making Lebanese bread) to use. There's a village shop at walking distance for everything else you need.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many nice walks to do around. The Afqa spring is 1 hour walk from the house and from there you can hike on the LMT, a beautiful trail going from North to South Lebanon through the mountains. There is also Jabal Moussa's reserve not far from the house which is a beautiful protected area with many endemic plants where you can easily spend the day walking.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Friendly animals are welcome.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week






















Host ref number: 558737369776