Help our family Tree Change to the South West - Boyup Brook, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 82 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    **Singles only please**

    We are so excited that you are considering to Workaway with us and for taking the time to read our family profile!

    Why do we need a Workaway? Well we are on the move! And in the final stages of a Tree Change that we have been planning for a while, moving from the suburbs in Perth, to the gorgeous country town in the South West Region of Western Australia.

    Our new home is in Boyup Brook which is 3 hours south of Perth, 1 hour from the beach and 20 minutes from Bridgetown.

    Ideally, we are looking for someone help us settle into our new home, watching the kids while we unpack, doing some gardening and maintenance and maybe even joining us as we explore our surroundings.

    We will be adding some farm animals to our home too, and a puppy!

    A BIT ABOUT OURSELVES

    I (Cristina/Mum) am 40, born in Spain and came to Australia when I was 6 years old but returned to Spain often to do some schooling and university. I was raised in a Spanish speaking household and would like to do the same for Lucas and Nina. I'm a Spanish food caterer and a Kinesiologist.

    I am an outgoing spiritually minded person who likes to try new things. I also enjoy and need my own space sometimes (as a Mum it's nice to enjoy some quiet time!). I enjoy going to yoga, reading, gardening, projects, keeping busy and catching up with my friends. I am passionate about healthy living and cooking.

    Tom is 44, born in Germany and came to Australia as a backpacker when he was 30. He works as a Supervisor for a mine site 2 hours flight from Perth in the dessert. Tom is very practical and family focused man who likes to potter around the house, fix things and garden. He enjoys rock music and metal (when not at home because I don't like it! haha) Tom enjoys spending time with his family when he is at home and watching a movie.

    Lucas is a very active, bright and sweet 3.5 year old. He loves playing with Duplos, cars, trains, and MOVING! He loves the outdoors, playing make believe and being on his balance bike.

    Nina is our strong little 1 year old girl. She's just started walking and loves exploring what's around her and playing with her big brother!

    OUR FOOD

    We enjoy home cooking as both Tom and I are good cooks (in our opinion!) We make a lot of hearty and more traditional meals and enjoy eating together. We don’t eat much processed food or junk food, otherwise we eat everything, but I tend to avoid gluten and dairy.

    For breakfast we usually eat eggs, toast and salad; lunch is usually leftovers or a sandwich and dinner we make slow cooked lamb with veggies, or fish curry, or rice dishes.

    You are also welcome if you are vegan or vegetarian but don't mind us eating meat. And I have thought about the vegetarian/vegan lifestyle before and am always interested in how other people incorporate more vegetables in their diet, so we can cook plant based dishes together! (and add a little bit of eggs or meat for us).

    We really look forward to meeting you and welcoming you to our family!

    Cristina, Thomas, Lucas and Nina

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Boyup Brook is a quiet service town on the Blackwood River and the Boyup Brook known as the Country Music Capital of Western Australia.

    Many interesting walking trails, particularly in Spring when the wildflowers are in bloom.

    Boyup Brook is in the heart of the South West Region from where you can access the wildlife, wineries, beaches, etc in your time off.

    There are also lots of Nature Trails, public pools, library, gym, etc.

  • Help

    Help

    Some of the help we may require - dependent on your skills and interests are:

    * Babysitting
    * Playing with the kids
    * Activities in German/Spanish with the children
    * Cooking or meal prep
    * Housework
    * Gardening

    * Other projects in future such as:
    * Painting
    * Some building/construction of play structures, fencing, bungalows

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a 2 story home 6 kms out of town. The beautiful Boyup Brook 'Pool' and creek runs through our property as does the old historic railway, no longer in use. We have a vegetable garden and olive grove. Bushland for walking and exploring too.

    • You will have your own bedroom with Queen bed, bedside table, lamp, wardrobe, hangers, towels, TV, desk and chair.
    • Access to unlimited WIFI and Netflix included.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off, the whole south west region is at your fingertips, from wine region to surfing in Margaret River, to camping and bushwalks.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 557886569296