Join our family and community in Pogórze Izerskie, Poland.

Country

Poland

Favourited 62 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/06/2020

  • Badges

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a small piece of land beautifully located in the hilly area of Pogórze Izerskie. We have two children aged 6 and 3 years. I’m ethnologist by education. I’ve travelled a bit and my interests are world cultures, languages and of course natural gardening. My partner is a carpenter/natural builder and runs his own business with straw bales building, clay plastering, traditional building techniques from the area.

    Not only do we live in wonderland of true nature but also we are lucky to be surrounded by other people who’d decided for countryside instead of living in huge cities. We’re friends and acquaintances with local artists, craftspeople and ecological farmers. We frequent some of the events that take place at “Stacja Wolimierz” (unused railway station with artistic background) and try to stay socially active in various social initiatives.

    On the plot, along with the small vegetable garden and old fruit orchard comes the traditional brick and stone house, which we patiently and gradually convert into an eco-friendly guest house with rainwater showers, compost toilets and solar energy. The garden and the orchard we wish to expand with the aim of being able to provide our future quests with the food grown exclusively by us. There is a dog and a cat together with us.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Art Projects

  • Help

    Help

    Depending on the season, demand and the preferences the work may vary from the standard garden maintenance, through firewood chopping, planting new trees and trimming the old ones to wood, straw and clay construction work.

    This year we wish to focus on renovation work on our house. We plan to finish the clay plastering on each and every wall in the house. There is green roof to be done. As if this wasn’t enough you can be sure there’s always some small bits and pieces like painting the windows, cleaning old furniture, etc.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a spare room for volunteers, we all share kitchen and the bathroom. In the sommer it's nice to sleep in the attic or in the tent. Please bring your own sleeping bags.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We usually pick up our volounteers from Gryfów Śląski or Lubań, where excist bus or train connections with Wrocław (one of the main cities in Poland). It is also not very far from Prague and Dresden (about 160km in each case).

    The nearest and biggest tourists attraction of our area is the Czocha Castle only by three km away from us. Near down in the villages there is also a lake to take a swim. It is possible to make a day trips to Jelenia Góra or Goerlitz. Unchangeably for us the biggest local lure stays the nature and plenty of possibilities to walk and wander around.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5


Host ref number: 557877664488