Permaculture projects - gardening, light construction work and providing loving care for our animals - in Asolo, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 118 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    86.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Translator interpreter Lara, and Prof Domenico, live near the beautiful village of Asolo, in Veneto, in the hills.
    Since we will be living part time in Venice and the rest of the time in Asolo, we are looking for a skilled helping-hand who can contribute by working at times independently to help us renovate one section of the house, building a terraced landscape, and who enjoys living in nature, tending the garden and providing loving care to our animals.

    Often away, the person that decides to come should be rather independent, responsible and able to do things, even alone. The magic of this place is that it is close to many beautiful towns like Bassano and Castelfranco.
    Longer stays - at least 2 weeks or more are preferred.

    Due to past experience, because we are not a citizenship office, we do not give workaways the chance to change their residency address to move it to Asolo.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can teach Italian, some cooking and about wild edibles. In exchange for my intensive schedule I usually take my guest away showing them some lovely spots around the area and, if they wish, integrate them within my circle of friends,.

  • Help

    Help

    The work entails spending 4 or 5 hours doing the general rounds of feeding and cleaning the animals, doing some permaculture work planting and preparing the vegetable patch, helping to build a tiny pond, or setting up a food forest and doing general work to keep the garden and house area clean and well groomed.
    Work is usually performed form 8 till 11am, and before sunset, from 5 to 6 pm, one last round to feed the goats, dogs hens and cats.
    Working independently and responsibly is a MUST, as well as being familiar with basic gardening and permaculture techniques or building skills.
    If you feel to be the right person, we'd be happy to take you on and share this bit of our project with you. We would also be happy with someone that decides to stay on longer so that once you get the hang of things so that the routine work becomes much easier.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, French, Italian, a little Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A separate apartment with a double bed, wood burning stove, kitchenette, bathroom with shower.
    NB The laundry area is in common with us so we do intersect in terms of spaces.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Asolo is a littel village in the heart of Veneto, it is 18 km from the bigger towns of Castelfranco Veneto and from Bassano or Montebelluna and near smaller gems like Maser and Valdobbiadene. A car is suggested, but I do have bicycles and there are bus connections.
    Plenty of hills to do some hiking.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 to 5 hours / 5 days a week

The eating area
larysa
snowy winter in asolo
the field opposite my house




Host ref number: 557633129667