1 / 2

Au pair help and embrace the outdoor lifestyle in Earlston, UK



 Min stay requested: 1 month or more



  • Description


    My husband, Peter, and I are farmers. We have two children, Henry who is 5 and at school and Clara who is 3 and at nursery/kindergarten 3 days a week. We are due to have our third baby at the end of September and so we are looking for an au pair/similar to help out in the house and with looking after Henry and Clara over the winter months (we have now found somebody for November so looking for someone to come from December).
    We are an arable farm and we also have livestock - sheep and cattle. We also have holiday accommodation on the farm. We have 4 dogs and my mother-in-law also has horses. The children love being out and about on the farm (Henry to see the tractors and Clara to see the animals!) and so we would love someone who embraces the outdoor lifestyle as well.

    Our farm, is situated in the Scottish Borders, about one hour south of Edinburgh, Scotland's capital. Being a farm, we are a rural location which is why having a driving license is beneficial as you would have use of a car when available. The Borders has lots of lovely towns to explore, historical places of interest, excellent outdoor activities to enjoy and getting to Edinburgh and beyond is easy. There is a railway line which is about 15 minutes away from us that takes you into the heart of the city centre so day trips up there are easy as the trains go every 30 minutes. The farm situated between two small towns both about 10 minutes drive away so it is not far to go to get to shops etc. You would have weekends off to travel/explore the area, as well as time off over Christmas and New Year should you wish to have time to travel further afield for longer.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The Scottish Borders is a very historical part of Scotland with lots of abbeys and castles/estates to explore. Our farm is one hour south of Edinburgh and so access to the capital city is very easy via bus or train. From Edinburgh, it is also very easy to then go further to explore other parts of this beautiful country.
    Our family have been farming here for 100 years now. We fully embrace anyone who would take an interest in the farm and what we do here. There is also a kirk (small church) here which dates back to 1127.

  • Au pair

    Au Pair Help

    This host has let us know they’ll be complying with UK regulations for au pair stays.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We mainly require an au pair to help with getting Henry and Clara up in the morning, dressed, breakfasted and taken to school/nursey (both are at the same place). Then at the end of the day, picked up, brought home, given tea, played with/help Henry with homework and then their bathtime/bedtime routine. On days when Clara is not at nursery, time spent playing/entertaining her could be worked into your hours. Helping with light housework is also expected.

    The children get up about 7am and need to leave for school/nursery at 8am. They finish their day at 3pm, have tea at about 5pm, bath at roughly 6pm and are in bed for about 7pm. Henry is at school Monday - Friday. Clara is at nursery/kindergarten Mondays, Wednesdays and Thursdays for the same hours as Henry is at school so they have the same drop off/pick up which makes it easier. We need to have someone with a drivers license

    We would be looking for an au pair to work around 30 hours a week Monday - Friday but there maybe the occasional weekend when we would ask that days off are swapped around (this would be agreed in advance). You would always get time off each day and we appreciate having time off over Christmas and New Year to go travelling/home maybe required which is absolutely fine.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We live in the main farmhouse on the farm. You would have your own bedroom and bathroom up your own flight of stairs to give you privacy from the rest of us in the house. We have WIFI throughout the house so you will be able to use it on devices in your room. Whilst we welcome an au pair to share our kitchen, we also have a smaller second kitchen which you would be welcome to use should you wish to. We want you to feel comfortable in our home :-)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Scottish Borders is a really beautiful place steeped in history and has a lot of stunning countryside to explore. It is perfect for those wanting to embrace the scottish outdoors whilst also having cities like Edinburgh and Glasgow reachable easily by train.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 30 hours a week for being an au pair.

Host ref number: 557558614379



Explore stunning Devon, live in the spiritual town of Totnes, in exchange for some childcare and school runs, UK
Au pair experience at our farmhouse near Edinburgh, Scotland