Help with our Eco Project in a native family next to volcano Imbabura, Ecuador

Country

Ecuador

updated  

Favourited 362 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    39  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1686

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    86.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Jose Cajas, I live with my family in Iluman at the foot of the volcano Imbabura, Otavalo. It is an indigenous village, we speak kichua and spanish. I have five children and pets such as dogs and cats. We also have chickens, cows and guinea pigs which are used for food. We live in harmony with nature, and cultivate ancestral crops such as corn, beans, ovillas...

    I am currently building a cabin on my land. We are building the cabin out of natural and locally sourced materials. There are only a few cabins in this region now, so it is a great opportunity to live with an Indigenous family and understand more of our culture and way of life.

    __________

    Yo me llamo Jose Cajas vivimos en familia en Iluman en las faldas del volcán Imbabura Otavalo. Es un pueblo de raza indígena, hablamos kichua y español. Tengo cinco hijos y también de mascotas como perros, gatos , también pollos,vacas y cuyes que es utilizado para la alimentación. Vivimos con la armonía de la naturaleza cultivamos los productos ancestrales como maíz, habas, ovillas etc.

    Ahora tengo un proyecto de construcción de una cabaña en mi tierra. Construimos la cabaña de materiales naturales y locales. Solo hay unas cabañas en esta región ahora, pues es una gran oportunidad para vivir juntos con mi familia indígena y entender mas de nuestra cultura y nuestra manera de vivir.

    ----------------

    Je m’appelle Jose Cajas, je vis avec ma famille a Iluman au pied du volcan Imbabura, dans la region d’Otavalo. C’est un village indigene, nous parlons kichua et espagnol. Nous avons cinq enfants et des animaux, et notamment des chiens et des chats. Nous avons aussi des poules, des vaches et des cochons d’inde, qui sont un plat typique. Nous vivons en harmonie avec la nature et nous mettons en oeuvre des les cultures ancestrales que sont le mais, les haricots, les ovillas, parmi d’autres.

    Je suis en train de construire un hostel sur mon terrain. Nous la construisons a partir de materiaux naturels et locaux. Il y a seulement quelques hostels dqns cette region, c’est donc une super opportunite de partager le quotidien d’une famille indigene et apprendre de notre culture et de notre maniere de vivre.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can also show you the route to the local volcanos, lakes and the Plaza de Ponchos in Otavalo if you wish.

    We really want to share our culture and also learn about the diverse cultures from other countries.
    ____________

    Tambien podemos mostrar la ruta al volcan y conocer los lagos y la plaza de ponchos si quieren

    Nos gusta mucho compartir nuestra cultura y a la vez entender otras culturas de otros países.

    ----------------
    Nous pouvons aussi vous renseigner sur les routes des volcans et des lacs ou encore le marche de la plaza de ponchos si vous voulez. Partager notre culture et apprendre des cultures etrangeres nous plait beaucoup.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with wood construction, placing stones for paths, painting, or any other way in which you can help: social networks, marketing, graphic design, artistic decorations... We could cook together as well (bread, pizzas...). You do not need qualifications or specific skills though, any aid will help us a lot. We do need help with the construction, but more than this, we want to talk to you, and learn from you.

    Necesitamos ayuda con construcción, con madera, trabajo con piedras, pintar, o con cualquier manera en que puedes ayudar: redes sociales, marketing, diseño grafico, decoraciones artisticas... Podemos tambien cocinar juntos (pan, pizzas...). No necesita tener cualificaciones, cualquier ayuda nos va a ayudar mucho. Es cierto que necesitamos ayuda con la construcción, pero nos queremos hablar y pasar tiempo con ustedes.

    Nous avons besoin d’aide pour la construction bois, la creation de sentiers en pierres, la peinture... ou tout autre type d’aide que vous pouvez apporter : reseaux sociaux, marketing, design graphique, decorations artistiques... Nous pourrions aussi cuisiner ensemble (pain, pizzas...). Cependant, vous n’avez pas besoin de qualifications ou de talents specifiques, n’importe quel type d’aide nous sera benefique. Il est sur que nous aurons besoin d’aide sur les constructions, mais nous voulons avant tout vous connaitre et apprendre de vos experiences.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Espanol. Kichwa

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A room in the cottage.
    We have a kitchen where you can cook and we really want to share recipes.

    Un cuarto en la cabaña.
    Tenemos una cocina donde pueden cocinar y queremos compartir recetas.

    Une chambre dans l’hostel.
    Nous avons une cuisine partagee ou vous pouvez cuisiner et nous voulons vraiment partager vos recettes.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The perfect location from which you can take trips to Cotacachi, Imbabura, Otavalo Market, Lago San Pablo and Lago Cuicocha. It is a great opportunity to live like the locals. We are only 2 hours from Quito.

    Also, we can pick you up from Otovalo and bring you to our cottage.

    We provide the breakfasts and lunches the five week days of work. You will provide your dinner y prepare it in our shared kitchen.

    ------------------

    Un gran lugar donde pueda hacer excursiones a Cotacachi, Imbabura, el mercado de Otavalo, Lago San Pablo, y Lago Cuicocha. Tambien estas en un pueblo Indigenas, pueda vivir como los vecinos. Estamos 2 horas de Quito.

    Tambien, podemos recogerlos de Otovalo y traerlos a nuestro campo.

    Ofrecemos el desayuno y el almuerzo los cinco dias de la semana. Deben traer su cena y prepararsela en nuestra cocina compartida.

    ------------------

    L’endroit parfait pour faire des excursions vers Cotacachi, le volcan Imbabura, le marche d’Otavalo, le lac San Pablo et le lac Cuicocha. C’est l’occasion de vivre avec les locaux. Nous nous trouvons a seulement 2h de Quito.

    Nous pouvons eventuellement vous recuperer a Otavalo et vous ramener a l’hostel.

    Nous fournissons les petits-dejeuners et les repas les cinq jours de travail de la semaine. Vous devrez fournir votre dinner et vous le preparer dans notre cuisine partagee.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 horas /5 días a la semana




































Host ref number: 748665891466