We are looking for a friendly volunteer to come and help us around the house in Featherston, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 65 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/08/2020

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, we are Michael, Marie, Etienne, Abigail and Cecilia. Our family is blended. Etienne is 18, studying Veterinary nursing and working part time. Abigail is 12 lives with us every second week and Cecilia is 10 joins us one weekend a month and school holidays.
    We live on a lifestyle block in the Wairarapa in a small town called Featherston near Wellington. The Wairarapa is beautiful and known for its vineyards, hiking trails, cycling routes and many more attractions.
    We have a dog, 2 cats, a goat, 3 ducks and chickens. Our aim is to become as self sustainable as possible. Our vegetable garden is in the process of being developed.
    Michael works full time in Wellington and Marie is home.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Marie is originally from Cape Town, South Africa and made New Zealand her home 16 years ago. Michael is from Germany and moved to New Zealand 5 years ago. The children are true Kiwis.

  • Help

    Help

    Marie had a sporting accident 3 years ago and are limited to what she can do. Marie needs assistance with vacuuming, hanging out and taking down the washing, changing the bedding, general cleaning in the house, feeding the dogs, cats and chickens, collecting the eggs, help with the gardening and firewood.

  • Languages spoken

    Afrikaans: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own cabin with bathroom facilities in the main house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









Host ref number: 557344563641