Look after our animals and home in the Hautes Pyrénées, France

  • Favourited 42 times
  • Last activity: 22 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    If you are looking to spend time in our area of South West France then we are looking for an able, willing, happy person (or a couple) to help us!

    We and have lived in the South West France for the past thirty years. Before that we lived in the UK and in South Africa. Having recently moved we now live in a small country village in the foothills of the Pyrénées where we are currently renovating a small farmhouse and would welcome some help in various chores!

    We are English speaking at home but speak French and would welcome learning any other language ...

    You must like animals as we have 1 dog and 4 cats who are part of the family.
    We have a small elderly dog who is mischievous but very well behaved and loves being with people and walks.... There are also a couple of cats who have made their home with us.

    We both work and run a local business. We work hard, but we also like to enjoy discovering the pleasures that France and french life have to offer! In the area we are in there are many of these pleasures ... skiing, walking, cycling, caves, gorges, canyons, waterfalls, lakes, rivers! And of course there is Spain which is just a hop, skip and a jump away.

    If you would like to spend some time in our lovely area of France, would enjoy exploring the Pyrenees and southern Gascony, happy to be contributing in doing various odd jobs ,then we would love to hear from you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This area is culturally and historically rich. There are a lot of activites during the summer and winter months which are are enriching. Possibility to learn another language and experience another culture and way of life.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a lovely farmhouse which we are renovating. There are always things that need doing around the house and garden and help would be greatly appreciated.
    If you have experience we would welcome your skills, if not your enthusiasm would be a good start!
    If you have painting, plastering or carpentery skills that would be a bonus!

    Help could involve amongst other things:

    - painting shutters
    - creating shelving
    - painting walls
    - plastering
    - gardening - weeding/watering/enjoying
    - creating a vegetable garden
    - chopping wood for the fire
    - or simply tidying and arranging
    - Our little dog always appreciates a walk each day so this may also include taking him for a little wander. He is old so he cannot go too far ...!

    We suggest that you pack scruffy work clothes for you to work in and that you bring a pair of comfortable walking shoes with you.

    We would welcome 5 hours of help a day and a 5 day week. The organisation of the times of these work hours is flexible. If you are staying longer than a week you are welcome to take your time off when it suited you should you wish to be exploring the area. In return we are delighted to offer you accommodation and three meals a day and include you in any activites we may be doing that you may be interested in.

    We look forward to hearing from you and welcome you to our lovely part of France!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    We speak English and French. We are open to learning other languages .....

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    During your stay there is a double room with a private bathroom for your use in our house. Should we have more than one workaway you may have to share the bathroom.

    We enjoy cooking and most meals are enjoyed at our kitchen table which is an important part of our home. You would be welcome to share your favourite recipes with us and participate in the preparation. We are not vegetarian but also enjoy vegetable based meals.

    There is a living area where you would be able to spend time alone or just chilling should you wish. You are welcome to spend as much or as little of your free time with us but we are equally happy for you to enjoy this time on your own should you prefer.

    We do insist that you have adequate travel and health insurance cover in case you fall ill and we will ask you to complete a form when you arrive/or before you arrive with your personal details and who to contact should this be necessary. If you do not have travel and health insurance you can obtain this through Workaway/Information/Insurance.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you are looking for glitz and glamour and a wild night life then this area is not for you! We are 4kms from the nearest small village and 8kms from another and are in the countryside. If you enjoy outdoor and cultural activities there is walking, cycling, skiing, yoga, painting and lots of other local activities. There are bus and train transport connections from a local village into Tarbes and Toulouse and to certain villages in the Pyrenees like St Lary. There is a mainline train station in Pau (Pyrenees Atlantique) and Tarbes / Lourdes (Hautes Pyrenees) which are both large towns with all facilities and good shopping, restaurants etc. There are also airport connections in Toulouse (Haute Garonne), Pau (Pyrenees Atlantique) and Tarbes / Lourdes (Hautes Pyrenees)
    Most of the local towns and villages have markets on different days of the week. There is plenty of hiking/walking in the area and we have bicycles which you are very welcome to use to explore the area.
    If we have a walk/hike or outing programmed while you are with us you would be very welcome to join in should you wish to.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This can be discussed

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Flexible

Host ref number: 555993249314

Feedback (8)



Photos

Feedback