updated  

Help to landscape a lava field garden, to develop DIY projects, and to improve social media and website in an old traditional house in Lanzarote, Spain

  • Spain
  • Favourited 57 times
  • Last activity: 31/01/2023

Availability

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    My name is Matías, a plant lover who teaches children and adults about biodiversity and native plants. I'm also involved in social actions for rewilding the capital city of the island with the community, using native plants.

    I like to share this passion and knowledge with others. I also like culture, art, science, nature, swimming, hiking and meeting new people to learn from their cultures and mindsets.

    ---

    This rural house was built by my great great grandfather in the late 1800s, when he was in his 20s.
    It is made of stone walls and wooden roofs.

    I would like to landscape an area of the lava field with stone walls and native plants. I would like this place to be a small botanic garden in the near future with a beautiful landscape and display of native plants. Sometimes I also need help with DIY projects (i.e.: dry toilet, recycling water system, fencing, composting system, etc.) and with social media and website (content, design, photos, video editing, flyers, etc.)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can practice the local language. You will learn how islanders adapted to live on a lava field. How they collected the little water, grew food and lived in a very hostile but beautiful place. I am the fifth generation of my family trying to adapt to this volcanic land. You will learn about the local plants. You will also learn about our passion for creating beautiful human-made landscapes on the island.

  • Help

    Help

    - Maintenance: Repairing old wooden doors and structures.
    - Eco projects: Designing and implementing a dry toilet, a water recycling system, etc.
    - Landscaping: Creating and repairing stone walls and paths in the garden.
    - Gardening: Planting, watering, weeding.
    - Nursery: Sowing, watering, transplanting.
    - Social media and website: Writing content, design, photos, video editing, flyers,etc.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    You can practice your Spanish with me if you wish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can choose between a tent outdoor or a shared room in the old house. Only Breakfast is included: Juice, fruit, toasts, milk/vegetable drink, cereals. For lunch and dinner there is a kitchenette area with a gas stove and pans that you can use to cook your own food.

    This is an eco-site with no electricity or running water, however there are water deposits where you can take water in bottles for the toilet and kitchen use. There also are solar lights to use during the night and I will provide a battery so you can charge your phone daily. There is no internet or wifi. The toilet is inside one of the old stables (no roof) and has a chemical toilet that needs to be empty once per week, and camping shower type. The water will be heated under the sun or on the stove if needed.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The place is located in a small village on a lava field. It is inside the natural protected landscape of 'La Geria´ - the main vineyard area of the island and where there are many wineries. The nearest town with all the services is San Bartolomé where you can use the public library and do shopping in the supermarket.

    The public transport is not very good in the village so I can give you a ride sometimes. You can also do hitch-hiking or walk if you prefer.

    You can do many things on the island, I will advise you depending on your interests. You can go to the beach, practice water sports, hiking, etc.

    ---
    The feedback in 2014 on this profile was from a different project in Córdoba, a city where I was living on that year.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hours per day (4 days per week)

Host ref number: 481414499825

Feedback (4)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)






Join us living multiculturally and learning to be self sustainable in Malaga, Spain
Help us building a new dry WC and managing wood in a nice mediterranean spot near Sella, Spain