Help our small family of homesteaders living in a rural area of Leitrim, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 49 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/04/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    we are a small family of homesteaders living in a rural area of Leitrim, Ireland. there is myself, Pearl, and my daughters, Cherry and Summer (almost 11 and 12), along with cats, dogs, goats, ducks and chickens. the girls are school going by day and I am at home with the animals, working in the garden, foraging as well as being a vaginal steam therapist and Herbal blend practitioner, house parent and healthcare assistant. until recently I was a retreat host, teaching frequency raising practices as well as hosting workshops in foraging for food and medicine, and soap making. this year I am taking time out to build up the gardens for future projects; hence the need for extra help

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I will share my passion of foraging, making food and medicine with same. you will learn about plants and gardening, as well as how to make nourishing foods from foraged and homegrown plants. on our time off we will visit local places of interest in the northwest of Ireland: lakes, woods, waterfalls, ancient places of interest.

  • Help

    Help

    we are a small family of homesteaders looking for extra help to bring into fruition a forest garden, kitchen garden and assistance with general day to day activities such as childcare, foraging for home preserves, sowing and growing fruit and veg, animal care. fit and able person required who is happy to help alongside me, as well as doing things on your own. suitable candidate should be kind to animals and children, have a love of the outdoors and nature, happy to eat wholesome, vegetarian food.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    there is a caravan for guests (which sleeps two people comfortably), a shared compost toilet and shower. we will share lunch and supper together. there will be a tea/coffee station set up in the caravan and you will be provided with foods to take breakfast in the caravan you will stay in. we use only natural domestic and personal cleaning products so you will need to have eco friendly personal care products or be happy to share ours.. you will need your own eco-friendly toothpaste.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    there is access to a bicycle if you want to cycle somewhere. we live 6km from the nearest village. I own a large bookshelf of books, which you be able to borrow from, you will be able to use our internet, we live next to a lovely river walk, there is a bus to and from Sligo daily. I go to town once a week (Sligo), so you will be given opportunities to do your own town stuff. we head out into nature often so you will be given the opportunity to enjoy many beautiful places that our locality has to offer. we live a life which has high regard for Mother Earth, we are not religious people but see ourselves as guardians of the Earth and endeavour to live according to nature. we have hosted a number of people to date, that have crossed our path providentially, and made some firm friendships in doing so. all who have stayed with us have left saying they learnt many skills and enjoyed what we have to offer. my daughters are very outgoing, and will be eager to show you around and interact with you..they still talk about our guests from last year and wish them back! we will do things well when its time, but also play hard when its time for play..i will endeavour to make your stay as welcoming and fun as possible. in this regard, I insist on full participation in any chores assigned to you that will assist to make life easy for everyone.

    i am only interested in help from people with good English language skills. i am only interested in offering extended stays to those that have stayed two weeks and have proved themselves competent.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.5)





Host ref number: 549635624963