Join a family on a hobby farm, help with small building and gardening projects in beautiful Connacht, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 82 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi all, my name is John. I live in a beautiful part of Ireland on an 80 acre farm. I've 3 girls. They're good-natured friendly girls who keep busy at their ponies, musical instruments and hopefully, their homework.
    It's a very picturesque farm. The river Deel runs alongside so basically we live in an a river valley, an ecological niche where nature thrives. Over us all, "our" mountain, Neiphin, looks down.
    In the last year we've used our house to host visitors in a very successful foray into holiday rentals.
    Now, for the next few months we'd like to improve the farm, establish a garden including a polytunnel, build a small timber bridge and a stone one too, rescue a few old sheds, and perhaps construct an 'Olde Worlde' cabin, simply built with a verandah overlooking a slice of heaven, and off-grid naturally.
    We get things done here in a spirit of co-operation and smiles. We've no wish to exploit anyone, or be dismissive of anyone's best efforts. All we ask is that whoever chooses to come join us, is positive and engaged, is respectful of our family, the farm animals, and the farm. We will respect you in return.
    Our house has 7 bedrooms so plenty of space.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Ok, I'm an experienced English Teacher myself so I can help in that regard if needed....but I think living in a rural community in the west of Ireland would provide any visitors to our farm an immersive experience into Irish Culture.

    Also, we've stables and horses/ponies so in free time, we'd help anyone interested to participate.

    Our chief sell though is our farm, and its beauty. The natural world is alive and well in our fields, woods and river..... and we feel honoured to live here.

    My kids all play Irish music (tin whistle, irish flute, and violin) so they'd assist if someone wanted to begin.

  • Help

    Help

    We've plenty to do. As mentioned above, we've a gardening project to begin (as I've envisaged it, it could be so lovely), we've 2 bridges to erect (small, one of timber. the other masonery), a timber cabin on an elevated deck to build (if we could get this up quickly, our workawayers could move in here if they chose), and other projects too.
    As I said, there's always something to do. :)
    I'd like that any visitors would help out in a safe, methodical and focused way, safety is paramount..... the ability to get along with tasks well unsupervised would be important too.
    Having said all of this, I'd again like to emphasize I do realise this is a cultural/life experience for all visitors; I'd like anyone arriving to look on as friends as they leave whenever on their next adventure.

    So, calling all carpenters, masons, gardeners.....and enthusiastic people.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We've 7 bedrooms, most double, so plenty of choice. You'll have access to all the comforts of our home. In fact, we'd much prefer if you joined in with us, as against feeling yourself a 'visitor'.
    The house is clean, spacious, and modern.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Please investigate Mayo online; you'll see it's a spectacular county full of interesting and scenic spots.
    Locally we've plenty to see too, and I've bikes there for visitors to use.
    By car, Ballina is 20 minutes away, Castlebar 40, and our local town Crossmolina is 5 minutes drive.
    Of course, we've shops, a cinema, nightclubs, pubs (alot!), doctors, a hospital, churches (alot!), and most other things everywhere else has.
    Within reason, I'd be willing to drive you about occasionally. There are buses and trains locally available too.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)









Host ref number: 942916424516