Experience rural life in 'Lovely Leitrim' in the North West of Ireland

Country

Ireland

updated  

Favourited 35 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a 65 year old woman with a small equestrian property in 'Lovely Leitrim' in the North West of Ireland. Just two ponies, both rescues - one being ridden (with difficulty) and one just ready to be backed, for which help is needed.

    I have a full sized riding arena, 2 stables, an all weather paddock and grazing. The countryside is fabulous and largely unspoiled. It is idyllic for those who like peace and quiet and wildlife. Not for townies. Birdsong is constant here, even in winter when everyone says they do not sing! This area still has red squirrels (no greys) and pine martens as well as foxes, badgers etc. My land is deliberately wildlife friendly, but does need some tidying up. My husband died two years ago so things have got a bit out of hand.

    I need help all year around but accommodation is in a caravan and Ireland is very wet, so you need to be hardy types to come in winter. If you want to come and help you will need sturdy boots (horses are careless about where they put their feet) and waterproof clothing!

    I also have 3 adult cats (one with only 3 legs) and a kitten so I'm afraid dogs are not welcome. I love dogs but the cats don't and there would not be enough space in the caravan.

    I am vegetarian and a lifelong non smoker. I am tolerant of smokers, but not indoors.

    I have an electric bike which visitors are welcome to use for exploring the countryside, and I would be delighted if people would use it to accompany me so I can hack out safely. My aim is to have my other pony backed asap and eventually, for experienced riders to be able to join me in hacking out.

    NB I have a helper coming for the first three weeks of October.

    I have limited wi-fi, not suitable for large downloads or intensive internet use. Fine for communication.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This would be ideal for people who want to experience rural life and enjoy being away from the hustle and bustle of towns. Anyone suffering from stress will be totally chilled out after a few days here. Leitrim is the least populated county in Ireland and even driving to the shops is a pleasant experience.

    I would be delighted to help people to improve their English, either verbal or written.

  • Help

    Help

    I need help with horse care and training which is a 365 day a year job, and with land maintenance which is very weather dependent. I need people who will be flexible about working - i.e. work like crazy when the weather is right and chill out when it is not. Days off are not a problem as long as the work gets done on other days. I am happy to take people sightseeing.

    The main jobs are looking after the ponies, cutting grass, collecting droppings, repairing fences, cutting back hedges and brambles, controlling weeds, levelling the riding arena, treating and repairing fences (horses are vandals). Also some exterior painting.

    Anyone who loves horses can help with mucking out, grooming etc. Experienced riders would be great as I need help with training my ponies. One is the world's cutest pony but full of mischief - and a bossy madam, the other is new here and needs a lot of gentle handling and training.

    I have lots of equipment to make the work easier - an elderly tractor, mini dumper, scythe mower, strimmer/brushcutter, hedge trimmer etc. and I can show you how to use everything. I like to work with people because it makes the chores easier and I love a good chat, but do understand if some people prefer to be left alone to get on with things.

    If you love birds and wildlife, you will have a fabulous time here. My land is wildlife friendly but does need some tidying up. I lost my husband two years ago and struggle to get everything done alone.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Very rusty French. I am English.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Visitors will sleep and breakfast in a 3 / 4 berth caravan behind the horses' paddock which gives privacy and chance to chill out. I rise early, go to bed late and have a small house!

    The caravan has gas, electricity and running water from a small tank inside. It is very warm with the heater lit. There is a tap beside the caravan with mains water and the stable block also has hot and cold mains water, electricity and a toilet. Basic cooking can be done in the caravan (no oven, just a two burner hob) but tasty vegetarian food will be provided in the house. I don't cook meat. There is a small fridge for milk etc.

    Just tell me what you like to eat (apart from meat or fish) and I will make sure you don't go hungry. Help with cooking and washing up is always appreciated.

    There is a cassette toilet and sink but no shower in the caravan. Visitors can use the shower or bath in the house and I will provide main meals in the kitchen. I will wash and dry clothes as needed and provide towels, bedding etc.

    For those who enjoy films I have hundreds of DVDs and a home cinema (projector and screen). There is only room for one viewer beside me in the house but I can supply DVDs to be watched on a computer in the caravan.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Public transport is limited here but I can take people reasonable distances for sightseeing if you do not have your own transport. Manorhamilton (10 miles away) has a theatre, cafes, pubs, and grocery shops and Sligo with it's lovely beaches and great surfing is only 17 miles away.

    I can collect travellers from Knock airport or Collooney / Sligo railway station, but not from Dublin.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 -5 hours a day average



Host ref number: 364678823342