1 / 3

Help around our family land while getting to know the surroundings of a traditional village in Alentejo, Portugal

  • Favourited 22 times
  • Last activity: 2 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hello :)

    We are a family of 4 with two small children . Some years ago it drew us to the countryside, we started off housesitting and then co-living on a small farm in Sintra and ended up in the Alentejo where we have found a beautiful home for our family.

    Our home is located in Troviscais, a small village close to São Luis, Odemira, where there is always a "gentle" breeze and lots of friendly people. Our vision is to regenerate the land which is located in the national park and had been ploughed, overgrazed and left abandoned for many years. We have started by freeing and pruning trees, giving some love and care to the old vineyard, building a nursery, creating some water retention systems (Swales), planting more trees. We don't have a master plan but lots of ideas and enjoy to learn as we go along. While we are no experts we are happy to share our knowledge of what we have learned so far about gardening, woodworking and land management and are of course always happy to learn more ourselves.

    Apart from spending time on our land, raising our boys, we enjoy going to the beach/surfing, creating home cooked meals, connect with friends and the community around us.

    A few points to consider before you get in touch with us:
    We live a calm family life so if you are looking for a place full of party this is not the right place for you.
    We only accept couples or two friends that are happy to spend their free time and meals together.
    We live in a small town with no bus connection, even though hitchhiking is quite common around here we strongly recommend you to have your own car to explore the area (we won't be your Taxi service).
    We live in nature! So please be prepared for the hot, sunny days and chilly nights, insects, etc....Looking after yourself is your own responsibility.
    We are looking for motivated people, if you don't bring your own set of skills that's ok but please bring some passion and curiosity to learn.
    We are happy for you to do what you do best or enjoy the most but sometimes things (like weeding, watering,...) just need to get done.

    If you have any questions, please get in touch!

    Looking forward to hear from you.

    Tabea and Lucas

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can't say that we are experts in anything we are doing but we are happy to share any of our knowledge that we have so far acquired while starting our own project (lots of trail and errors here!).

    The association of Troviscais is in walking distance where there are several activities throughout the week such as Ping Pong, Language Exchange, occasional Jam sessions but also traditional Portuguese Bailes.

  • Help

    Help

    The help required will depend on the time of the year. During autumn, winter and spring there will be gardening tasks such as pruning, weeding, planting, watering, landscaping,.... During the summer months we will mainly focus on building projects and maintenance, and of course watering. If it seems suitable from both sides the work could also involve some creative play with our children. From time to time we take short trips so there could be a possibility you might be housesitting and looking after our animals.

    Projects for Autumn/Winter 2023/2024:
    - Build compost toilet
    - Build outdoor shower
    - Mark out and make new Swales
    - Tree planting along swales

    We work between 9:30 and 16:00 during week days while our older son is in school. We will ask you to complete your working hours during this time so you can either help us or ask us questions if working independently.
    During the hot summer months working hours could also be earlier and later due to the heat throughout the day.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay in our beautiful 5m bell tent which is equipped with a comfortable double bed or two single beds, ideal for a couple or two good friends. For the colder nights there is a small wood stove to keep you warm. Until we have built our outdoor kitchen and bathroom you will be sharing a kitchen and bathroom with Lucas' brother if he is there during your stay. We have a small playground for our children close to the bell tent which we might use from time to time (most likely while you are working). There is a washing machine (and a dryer for the wet months) which you are welcome to use.

    With two small children our daily schedule is very much revolving around them, so are our meals. Some days can be very chaotic and so is the food. We therefor ask you to prepare your own food and will be happy to invite you for a meal from time to time. You can choose between two arrangements: 3h work 5 days/week (not including food) or 5h work 5 days/week (including money for food).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Troviscais and São Luís are traditional Portuguese villages with a large community of people seeking alternative lifestyles. You will therefor get in touch with the rural Portuguese countryside but at the same time witness how it is changing through the big influx of new people. There are two cafes in Troviscais and many more in São Luis.
    São Luís also offers a wide variety of activities and events.

    In 5 min you are at the Rio Mira where you can go for a swim, 20 minutes you are in Odemira where you can find everything you need, 30 minutes in Vila Nova de Milfontes and incredible calm river beaches and the wild Atlantic coast.

    There are beautiful trails around if you enjoy walking or mountain biking.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 549612998765

Photos

Feedback

Enjoy life in our quintana and help with olive picking in Tramagal, Portugal
Doing cleaning, beddings in a small eco holiday resort in the hills of the Algarve, Portugal