Help us with our eco building in Extremadura

Country

Spain

Favourited 145 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a little paradise: a small river, 2 stone stages for performers outside,a hill with beautiful sunset sights, Nilo's rock castle, many wild birds flying around, about 60 olive trees and a little organic garden and medicinal plants.

    AnaH is a yoga teacher,bach flower practiccioner, masaje terapist and a singer/dancer. So you can share your presence with her regular practice and meditations (normally I practice alone, but you can ask if you want to practice together or atend a class).
    Josue is a photographer, master in making mojitos, rebuilder, an eco builder and a great cook.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    It is a deep cultural experience on many levels, both the Spanish and portuguese culture and ancient cultural patrimony heritage.

  • Help

    Help

    We are working hard building a small bathroom and a green roof. Also a tiny house. We need to restaure ancient walls too from the river winter flooding. For the moment we need to shop some wood and pick olives or seeding (fall and winter) and gather herbs and berries or veggies (summer), paint, help with the house, do some maintenance or help with computer work, etc.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    Italian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is plenty of space to put a tent near the river creek. We host helpers on the studio, a dormitory or small campervans if they are smaller than 6 mts long.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We adore music, photography, and art in general.

    AnaH can invite you for yoga/dance clases or workshops, but if you whish a massaje, Non Violent Communication Facilitation, bach flower or Ayurveda therapy, it is not for free.
    We expect people to work about 5 hours/day, rest on sundays, which depends on the staying time. The rest of the day free for you to walk or bike, or join us in our social rural life. But we expect you to go alone where you want to visit.

    About the farm, in the first days we show you the place and where the tools are and what are the priorities, so we can organize the work and free time (we asume we are dealing with responsible and healthy people..). But every day is different here, so we need some flexibility too.

    About the meals, we share the cooking and then you can eat with the family or on your own on the common kitchen below our house and we will eat with the children upstairs, because we usually have different timings due to our parentohood.
    At dinner time, we have soup and bread with different style of creams or we eat what was left from lunch .
    Each one washes their own dishes and we make turns in who cooks and who makes dish washing, so the work can be fun. ;) if you don't have experience dish washing, we use one side with clean water (left) and one side with hot water and detergent (right). First go the cups, then the bowls, after the plates , then the cutlery. Finnaly the pans,etc. If it still has some grease IT MEANS IT NEEDS ANOTHER GO ;-)

    We have a macrobiotic and mediterranean diet, which means we are flexible with all sorts of diets, but we use very reduced amounts of animal protein and eat flowers, wild herbs, sea weeds and seeds on a regular basis. If you wish to try any of these recipes we do, please let us know before, so we can organise a special day in the kitchen for teaching everything you want to know. Definetely not at meal time cooking, because it would be too stressfull. If you have some questions, you can ask them on the coffee break.

    Please come prepared with enough clothing/warm sleeping bag for the night.

    There is a big swimming pool nearby on the Portuguese border.There are lots of places to go for a ride, like the vultures hills, a 10 min. away from our house, or small villages to visit or the dolmen sites. We can lend our bikes and sometimes we can go together, if posible. We have many neo rural friends around, with horses, animals, fantastic sightseeing places, cool places to come for a drink, so it is also an opportunity to visit other peoples farms and know the life style we have here. We love it !

    Many helpers after some days will share their personal lives and thoughts with us, as we share our day to day life and our philosophy of living, but after some days we found a common patern on some personal questions we are being asked by helpers which make us feel like in the Big Brother show...please respect our intimacy and cultural & family heritage, healing the earth also includes healing family structures and that takes a lot of time...

    We have tourism office leaflets from the towns around us to visit, both in Spain and Portugal and until now people just loved our cooking !

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Can possibly acccept pets

    Can possibly acccept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hrs/day

the family at Vostell Museum
veggie garden
Recycling palets
Earthship building
Host ref number: 549348379535