Catalan family close to Barcelona is looking for somebody native in English to help us with our 2 girls

Country

Spain

Favourited 37 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello everybody!!. We are Elisabeth and David and we have two beautiful girls, Arlet and Ivet, aged 7 and 5. We don't accept shot stay (MINIMUM stay 2/3 MONTHS) 😉.... I work as a teacher in a High School near home and David is engineer and works in Barcelona.

    We have had 6 positive experiences hosting au pairs who have all become like family but we are "beginners" on this web whose philosophy we love.

    Dad, engineer, works in Barcelona and Mum, teacher, works in a High School near home. We consider ourselves to be a dynamic and busy family in which you will never get bored. We would like you to take this seriously and treat it as any other job but to also treat this as a life experience where you can meet new people, possibly learn a new language and discover a new way of life.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will experience the Spanish & Catalan cultures by joining our family (traditions, habits, culture, food,...) and you will discover a new area. Our village is located in the "Montseny Natural Park" and it is surrounded by forest and beautiful landscapes.

  • Help

    Help

    We need a volunteer who ENJOYS PLAYING WITH CHILDREN speaking in English, able to use her/his initiative, is kind and energetic.
    We´d love to have someone who is fun, loving and caring who will play, draw, read, sing, dance (badly) and keep the girls entertained!.
    We'll need you to pick them up from/take them to school 3 times per week but we don't just want someone to work for us, we want someone to be part of our family, a big sister or brother for the girls!.
    We are looking for a girl or boy whose mother tongue is English as we wish for our two children to have a good command of the language in the future.
    Arlet (7 y.o.) can understand many things and she can already communicate in English. Ivet (almost 5 y.o.) can also understand a lot and she can communicate by using basic words in English.
    We would like you to teach them English by playing games, puzzles, going to the park, riding on bike, etc… My husband and I can speak English, so there would be no need for you to learn Spanish unless you wanted to.

    Weekends will be free time for you (from Saturday to Sunday), plus Fridays (after 9AM).

    While you are here we would also like you to help out with a little bit of housework, nothing serious, just things like setting and cleaning the table, making the bed and tidy children’ s bedroom and playroom, put and take out children’ s laundry , sweeping and other normal house jobs.

    We don't have rules on what time you get home at night or if you stay out and come back the next day. However, we would like you to tell us when you go out. We would like you to have fun but want to keep you safe :)

    We would love it if you ate with us and spent time with us as we want you to become and feel a part of the family, but, of course this isn't compulsory!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Catalan: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We are living in a three levelled house in which you will have your own bedroom (with a desk, book shelf and wardrobe) and bathroom.

    The name of our village is St. Esteve de Palautordera, a cozy village of 2.500 inhabitants located in the "Montseny Natural Park".
    It is surrounded by forest and beautiful landscapes and it is 50 minutes from Barcelona (by car or train -whose price is 3 Eur per ticket if you buy a 10 train pass-).
    Our village is plenty of services (bars and café’s, post office, school, supermarkets, hospital, library, riding center, gym,...) and all within walking distance.
    You can use our bike to ride to the downtown.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Barcelona and Girona are two beautiful cities plenty of interesting monuments to visit and things to do (it will take you 50 minutes by train to get to the city center and the train ticket to Barcelona costs 3 Eur, if you buy a 10 train pass). We can help you plan your trips and visits.
    There are also some new workshops and classes in the village which are starting every term and there is also a group of local youngers who speak English very well and go for different activities at weekends.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Good wifi-connection available.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 20 hours a week, 4 or 5 days a week.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.3)






Host ref number: 545977318988