Join our family in a beautiful coastal town, NSW Australia



Favourited 181 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    73.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    Hey there!

    We are a relaxed family of four, living in a beautiful coastal town on the south coast of NSW. There’s Andy & I, our 4 year old son and our baby girl, 1 year old. We both ‘work from home’ (but have recently opened a coworking space because we wanted to build community so actually work from there) and have slowed our lifestyle down so that we can enjoy more moments.

    Things that we love about living here: we can bike everywhere (beach, supermarket, cafes), there is great coffee, there are beaches for swimming, surfing and exploring, we often see whales/dolphins/seals, people are really friendly, going to markets, there are heaps of national parks around to explore, walk and camp.

    We have a large ‘renovators delight’ house, that we are slowly renovating. We’re also slowly building up the vegetable gardens, planting trees and generally creating a nice vibe. We love to have visitors, go to local music jams, outdoor documentary screenings, ecstatic dance, meditation and community meals.

    We try to eat a mostly-wholefood diet. We don't eat a lot of dairy and are gluten-free. We're happy to cook vegan, vegetarian, low-FODMAP or low sugar. :P But we also follow the 80/20 rule, and are relaxed about things.

    Getting to Bermagui can be a little tricky, but that is what makes it so special and untouched. We’re happy to pick you up in Bateman’s Bay, Moruya, Bega or Merimbula.

    Buses: There is a bus from Sydney with premier buses, which stops in Bermagui. Also, There’s a bus from Canberra to Bega with NSW countrylink services, and a bus/train from Melbourne with v-link.

    Flights: Rex fly to Merimbula from Sydney/Melbourne.

    Also, you can try ride sharing sites - if they get you somewhere on the region we can pick you up!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Both of us travelled a lot before we had kids! We love travelling, sharing our stories and experiences, learning from each other. We speak French and Spanish, and a bit of German, Portugese and Indonesian.

    We’re looking for people who want to be a small part of a tribe for a while. Join our family, have some fun, work together and swap stories. We like to work hard in the mornings (unless we’re having a nice time at the local cafe or if the weather is perfect for a swim) and then relax and explore in the afternoons. We also love having a bigger tribe to spend time with.

    With us, you’d get to experience the stunning and relaxed south coast. The beaches and ocean here are some of the most beautiful we’ve seen in the world. There aren’t lots of people around – it’s slower than the city – but we like to get together on a regular basis around a fire, for a dance or for a meal. We also like to slow down, sit on the veranda with a cup of coffee and read a book.

  • Help


    *️At this stage we’re looking for longer term help so that you can build a relationship with our kids. It’s a big investment welcoming new people into our lives, because we open our hearts & energy & joy in our local rhythm-of-life. We’re interested in stays of 4 months +.

    We’re interested in the following help for a few hours each day:
    • looking after our kids (one or both). This means feeding and nappy changes for our bub, plus peek-a-boo and crawling around, or sand castles, lego (LOTS of lego) and trampoline time with our son. Also packing lunches, cleaning up, walking to preschool, negotiating and sharing things you love.
    • Garden help: planting, weeding, mowing, digging, landscaping, building retaining walls... also permaculture people with ideas!
    • Cleaning and/or cooking: I'll be honest - two little kids means lots of cleaning and lots of feeding time! Jobs are simply tidying up, doing a deep clean, vaccuming, packing toys away... plus making gluten-free, wholefood meals!

    We've also started a co-working space in Bermagui. We are mostly looking for help to keep our house going, but if anyone has experience with website development, we'd like help setting up a low-cost website with booking functionality.


  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Spanish, a bit of German, a bit of Indonesian

  • Accommodation


    We have a large, but rough, two-story house about 50 metres from the beach.

    You would have your own large bedroom and bathroom downstairs. The bedroom has one double bed and a bunk bed. Occasionally if other guests are staying (in the lounge room near you), in which case you might have to share the bathroom. We also have wireless internet.

    We live upstairs mostly – so you have as much privacy as you need.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You’re welcome to use one of our bicycles to ride around town. There are many beaches within walking and riding distance – some for surfing, some for swimming and the river for paddle-boarding. You’re welcome to borrow our boards, and we’ll invite you any time we go out. There’s also the Blue Pool – a beautiful ocean swimming pool. Here in Bermagui there is also the Eastwood’s cooking school and a local farmers markets.

    Within driving distance there is Gulaga (a mountain), which you can walk up, local cheese makers, Cobargo village and national parks.

    There isn't a lot of local public transport - but there is a bus to Bega and Batemans Bay, and a bus to Sydney and Canberra.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 589176423838