Help a felt-maker in the heart of Istanbul, Turkey

Country

Turkey

updated  

Favourited 757 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    33  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/12/2019

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi. We are Sabri and Katie. Sabri has been making felt for over 10 years and currently sells his brand, on Etsy. I came to Istanbul as one of Sabris volunteers three years ago and have been making felt since. I share my time between San Francisco (where I work as a pediatric nurse) and Istanbul. We are a relaxed couple who love to play with colors. We are in the process of opening our first hat shop and for that need help with the felting process. Felting is a process of binding the fibers of wool together to hold a particular shape. This is done with manipulation of the wool by pressing and rolling with hot water and soap. This is a very hands on job that takes energy and attention to detail. However, no experience is needed and we welcome anyone interested. The felting process can take several hours depending on the size of the project and the energy you use. Felting is hard work (literally power is used at the final felting stage) but it is also fun to play with the materials and be surrounded by so many colors. We also dye our own wool and have many building projects simultaneously going on, so its a real mix of work. We would like a minimum of 1 week commitment and you would be expected to work 5 out of 7 days.
    Meals are provided and access to the kitchen is always welcome for those that like to cook.
    We eat mostly vegetarian and both love to cook.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    We are currently looking for assistance with felting.
    We are also in need of Web design and internet marketing.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Turkish, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live and work in a two level historical apartment with a large Garden space where we do most of our felting. We live upstairs with a salon and personal bathroom. Downstairs is the kitchen, working depot, bathroom, and rooms we can accommodate volunteers in. (You will share a room and bathroom with the other volunteer)
    However, There is plenty of space to have some alone time during your off hours or breaks.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our home is located in the heart of Istanbul (galata tower) 5 minutes to istiklal street
    Very close to metro, art galleries, pubs, bars and cafes. great neighbourhood for wandering around as there are many artisan shops nearby.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week





















Host ref number: 545195628837