I am an artist living in one of the most beautiful spots in the world, Boulder, UT, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 58 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Greetings. I am an artist living in one of the most beautiful spots in the world, Boulder ,UT. It's a teeny town on the edge of the Grand Staircase Escalante National Monument. At 67, I'm finding it hard to complete all the many projects I have. There is gardening help and some rudimentary carpentry, and other small house projects. I also would love help in making my framing, which I do from scratch and I am starting some new projects which would require large stretchers for canvases and making screens to paint on. As a landscape painter, it might also be fun to have some help carry large pieces for drawing in the wilds! A couple would be most welcome too.And it would be an added benefit if I could get some computer help, though not essential. A car is needed here as it is so remote. I speak Greek and Italian. Should someone from Greece or Italy want to come here I would adore having the chance to speak in those languages. As this is my first experiment with having an unknown person in my house, I don't want to commit to more two weeks.

    I must say this again....a car is a must as well as a drivers' license

    I will be moving soon to Taos, NM and am not sure of my dates, so for the time being I cannot commit

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As an artist, I would be happy to show people how to use pastels and also how to cut glass and mats and do simple frames.Also I would be glad to show my visitors some wonderful spots to hike and camp, and could lend some basic camping equipment. Not only would visitors experience living on the edge of a magnificent wilderness, but they would also experience the life of an artist.And this is a wonderful community too, with events and musicians and a great Saturday market.

  • Help

    Help

    There are many kinds of chores, from making simple screen doors, to artists' stretchers and frames to weeding and digging in the garden, and perhaps a bit of landscaping ....so rudimentary woodworking skills would be needed.I have a small woodworking shop with a table saw and planer so familiarity with those would also be useful.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Italian, Greek, some French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A bedroom with a wonderful view, with an independent entrance and private outside sitting area with ones own bathroom, though shared by visitors during the day.,i would provide food for breakfast and lunch and a cooked dinner (which might be fun to cook together) I work late and so am a late diner (normal for Europeans) Would be happy to send photos.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is a place for nature lovers, not city lovers. There is some best hiking in the world. There are so many gorgeous places to go. (Check out photos of GSENM online.) Saying that, there are a few excellent restaurants here, and the nearest town Escalante also offers restaurants and a pub.
    I am used to living alone, so this will be a new experience for me. I wake fairly early but would prefer not to be social for an hour or so in the morning when I like to read and meditate for a while.
    I was imagining doing the work in the morning with afternoons free, but should you want to do an overnight campout or small trip, I could be flexible.
    I would prefer couples.
    I am a vegetarian, as is my cooking! But I have no objection if you want to bring your own meat.
    I have a dog, but I have no fence and there are many temptations around here, so I'm afraid no a animals.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 255986263968