Learn about small scale sustainable farming on our secluded homestead north of Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Country

Canada

new host  

Favourited 17 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/03/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a mature married couple who need help on our farm in the wilds of Godfrey. Our 16 acres currently holds a small market garden, a very young food forest, sugar bush for maple syrup production, and chickens and ducks for eggs and meat. We grow annual vegetables but also have perennial foods (asparagus, rhubarb, fruit trees, berry bushes), and harvest wild foods (mushrooms, berries, nuts, etc).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The area is considered the "land o' lakes" so there's many lakes to fish, swim, explore. The K&P trail runs nearby and is great for biking and hiking. We have a canoe and bicycles available to use. We are close to some provincial parks and conservation areas. Our land is secluded and very natural - There is plenty for a nature lover to appreciate within walking distance.

  • Help

    Help

    We need some extra hands to help with the outdoor "to do" list, such as extend and maintain the gardens, orchard and flower beds; finish building the barn; clear brush; maintain fences; cut firewood; care for the chickens, ducks, cats, and dogs. There's also room to experiment with farming projects like hugels, terracing, pond building, etc. We are still in the process of building our house so there's deck building, plastering, tiling, to be done as well. No two days are the same, and we'll try to find tasks that you enjoy or want to learn more about.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double bed in the spare room; the hammock in the nice weather; and lots of camping sites to choose from (we can supply the tent). The spare bathroom will essentially be yours exclusively. We can accommodate one volunteer or one couple.
    We take turns cooking, and usually eat dinner together. The rest of the day you're welcome to help yourself to anything in the kitchen (and to clean up after yourself). We mostly eat what we grow, so there's a lot of vegetables and eggs, the occasional chicken, duck, or other local meats. We dry our own herbs, make our own bread, pasta, jams, pickles, soups, sauces, etc.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a 45 minute drive to Kingston, and 10 minutes to the nearest little town with a grocery store. There is no public transportation. We do have a vehicle and make weekly trips into Kingston.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 544494121425