Looking for help in our beautiful unspoiled lake in cottage country in northern Ontario, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 42 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live year round on a beautiful unspoiled lake in cottage country in northern Ontario, Canada in a 3 storey cottage which I built from scratch back in 1970 when I was fresh out of college. We have been hosting student helpers every summer since 1978 and they are all still part of our ever growing extended family.

    We presently have an opening starting January 1, 2020 and we prefer long term visitors.

    We have welcomed amazing young men from all over Europe who are non-smokers and eat regular food and enjoy the idea of country living beside an unspoiled and uncrowded lake surrounded by protected forest.

    We have a very large collection of testimonials from helpers which we have been hosting since October of 2013.

    The record for length of stay has been 6 months at one time and another visitor has returned for three two-month visits. We prefer long term visitors. I have been invited to two future weddings in Europe so far and will have about 5 former helper visitors returning this coming summer and one bringing his younger brother.

    We very much have enjoyed the company and the feeling seems to be mutual.

    Our visitors help with household chores such as preparing meals together. Of course we operate like a family and also eat nutritious home cooked meals three times a day at our family dining table.

    We have a very large property with lots of buildings and lots of boats and there is usually something on the "to do list" that needs to be upgraded or repaired so we need someone to "hold the other end of the board" and so on.

    In summer there are boats to bail and in winter there are stairs to clear of snow.

    For fun, there is water-skiing and tubing, swimming, hiking, portaging, fishing, and in winter there is skating, tobogganing, riding the snowmobile. The hot tub and sauna are popular items both winter and summer.

    I would love to have a dialogue with you about visiting here and answer any questions you may have.

    We usually reply to e-mail very promptly

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Many people come here with the idea of polishing their English and we are glad to help with that. They usually learn some cooking tips, how to do maintenance on small engines, electrical, plumbing and building projects and other mechanical knowledge.

    Most visitors also learn to water-ski and have opportunities to hike and explore, portaging go cliff jumping, swimming, learn about saunas and hot tubs and generally have fun.

    We have a long list of testimonials from former international helpers that we can share with you if you are interested.

  • Help

    Help

    Help with cleaning

    Bailing boats,

    Moving firewood

    Help with repairs.

    Split and stack firewood

    Help with preparing the food that we eat together and cleaning up the dishes that we use.

    Computer help. (I am a computer idiot)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We provide a private room in our 6 bedroom year-round home on our waterfront property and offer laundry facilities, and we share meal preparation and eat nourishing home cooked meals together as a family 3 times a day.

    There are also opportunities for water-skiing, tubing, swimming, using our hot tub and sauna, canoes, kayaks, wind surfer, cliff jumping, portaging hiking, exploring, visiting the tourist spots, sharing meals with our neighbours and friends.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have been working with exceptional high school students every summer since 1978 and are still in touch with all of them and more recently have added to our ever growing extended family with awesome helpers from all over Europe and have very much enjoyed the company of these people.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Very flexible - no set hours - we just do what is needed - very relaxed pace (Max 25 hours)




Host ref number: 366925243425