Help us cultivate our veggie garden and help with little projects around the house Northern California, Mendocino Coast USA

Country

United States

Favourited 72 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    63.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in a beautiful part of the northern California coast on 3+ acres. The property is backed up on a national forest of more than 10,000 acres so you can take beautiful walks in the forest and even walk all the way down to the ocean which is just over 3 miles away...

    I would welcome a little help with my private residence!
    I have 2 organic gardens and a green house and grow as much veggies as possible!
    I have a room mate, Simone, and another friend, Robin, who live on the property and between us we do our best to weed, water, tend and care for the garden but we can sure use some help!
    There are always a lot of little project going on that we need help with. Right now we are building a composting toilet and reinforcing some of the fences - we gotta keep the deer out of the garden!

    This is a great opportunity for someone who loves to be outdoors, to be in a meditative environment and enjoys gardening, building projects, appreciates good food (my room mate is a fabulous mostly vegan chef!) and isn't afraid to get their hands dirty.

    I'm a builder by trade and I have built the house as well as all the other structures on the property. I love to travel and sail a have been on my spiritual path for many many years.

    I welcome an authentic down to earth individual to come and learn, contribute, share and enjoy the abundance of the land I call home...

    You may also enjoy helping Simone in the kitchen and learning about plant-based whole food cuisine, her background is in Macrobiotics.

    We are located between the town of Mendocino and Fort Bragg just a few miles from the coast, having a car is handy though there is a car which can be made available from time to time.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Potentially there is a lot to learn possibly including:
    Cooking, nutrition and healing
    Yoga
    Building
    Gardening
    Good conversation!

  • Help

    Help

    Helping in the garden - weeding, planting, watering
    Building projects - assisting and helping
    Cleaning - there always seems to be something that needs cleaning or cleaning out!
    Cleaning the forest - clearing underbrush, weed waking, tree trimming
    General help around the house

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private bedroom with shared bath
    Simone does most of the cooking which is usually some porridge for breakfast and then a good brunch (more like an early lunch) and a light dinner - we like to go with the flow but prefer not to eat late -

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Private Bedroom with shared bath
    the hummingbird cottage is also available from time to time and can also accommodate someone especially if they are here for a longer period - this cottage is basically a bedroom but has a sink and we are currently building a composting toilet for this dwelling...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Wifi connection is generally good, in the past I had IT persons living on the property working from home...

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 543299828341