Stay with our family by the sea in Auckland, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 274 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/10/2020

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello!

    My name is Tennille and my husband Gavin and I have 3 wonderful boys, 2 cats, a dog, chickens, ducks, rabbits and 3 pigs.

    We live on a small hobby farm and we are a fun, adventurous, family. We are very, very busy and live where we work. There are always lots of jobs to do everywhere. We operate a school on our property that is 100% outdoors. It is a social enterprise that provides a learning space for children to connect with nature and engage with interesting learning themes that have a nature focus.

    We are surrounded by a beautiful native forest and the beach is at our doorstep.

    We live North of Auckland and although our property is quiet and private, the ocean is at the end of the driveway and we live only a 5-10 minute drive to the local shopping centre.

    Projects that we need assistance with:

    * Painting the house
    * Building / construction
    * Gardening / planting / weed control
    * Animal care
    * Arborist work

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our home is a large, open and friendly. We often have lots of friends and people visiting. Our staff are here everyday too so you will always see them.

    We have travelled ourselves, as a family, to many other countries, and love learning from other people about a different language, food and culture. We enjoy sharing our lifestyle and culture and learning from others. Our children too are fascinated with other countries and cultures and are excited when we have visitors.

    Our family enjoys being active in walking, surfing, sailing, snorkelling, kayaking and swimming. Being right at the beach allows for this every day! If you are looking to be active and close to nature, then we're the family for you!

  • Help

    Help

    We would love to host you, in return for initiative and help with our projects.

    Projects that we currently need assistance with:

    * Painting the house
    * Building / construction
    * Gardening / planting / weed control
    * Animal care
    * Arborist work

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your own room in the main house with our family. This is a double room which can be for a single or couple. All linen and towels are provided and the bathroom you have to use is part of the main house, we will share this with you.

    Your stay WILL include accommodation, breakfast and an evening meal. (You will need to arrange your own lunchtime meal and snacks)

    We expect 5 hours of work per day Monday - Friday (per person) and help with general household chores as you would living anywhere. Eg: cleaning up after yourself and doing dishes etc.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    When you have time off you are more than welcome to use our surfboards, SUP, kayaks and bikes. Local sights include farmers markets, cafes, restaurants, bars and several beaches and regional parks. Transport to Auckland City is approx 40 minutes by car and a bus station is nearby.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a very large property with enough space for several campervans! We also have a local dumping station down the road if you require (and if your campervan is self contained). Alternatively, we have our own outdoor toilets available to use. We can give you access to power and internet.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Yes, but some rules apply.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 542782355865