Come and help us on our farm in Shropshire, England

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 85 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/08/2019

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live at the Farm in beautiful rolling countryside near Ludlow, Shropshire in England. We are Rupert and Jude and our kids are Libby (10), April (8) and Penelope (3). We bought this derelict farm 7 years ago and have restored a beautiful Elizabethan home, renovated the barns into a luxury holiday home (sleeps 12) and revitalised 12 acres of farm land. We are not a commercial farm but have grazing sheep, pigs, chickens, ducks and a dog called Meg. Rupert works in London 3 days a week and is very handy at home over weekends and Jude manages the home, the holiday let, the kids, animals, bits of business and anything else in-between. You will be welcomed into our family home, have your own bedroom and bathroom on the top floor of a beautiful Elizabethan farm house (with private evening use of the upstairs sitting room), experience a gorgeous rural setting through an English Spring and/or Summer and have the medieval market town of Ludlow with all its beautiful heritage to explore just down the road. National Trust properties are abundant around here as well. History, countryside, local produce and art are really what Shropshire is about.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our home is a welcoming environment and we look forward to sharing interests and knowledge with anyone who is keen to learn.

  • Help

    Help

    We're looking for people with a really positive 'can do' attitude who are willing to muck in with anything the family needs doing from childcare, to cooking, to looking after the animals, to gardening, veg planting, cleaning. Someone with an artistic and adventurous spirit would really suit us. We instill a love of outdoors in our children and this would definitely need to be followed by whoever joined us here.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, basic French (husband)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have use of the top floor of a beautifully restored Elizabethan farm house - bedroom, bathroom, and evening use of upstairs sitting room to yourselves. There is also a computer on the top floor as well. Beautiful views, indulgent soft furnishings and ancient floorboards await. We would welcome you to eat with us as a family throughout the week but would ask for some evenings to be private as well. A good thing for both us and yourselves to have a healthy balance of shared time and private time. The top floor accommodation will be perfect for your 'time out' place.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Shropshire is the least populated county in England, you'll see more hills and views and greenary than people but the people who are here are friendly and interested in indviduals and your story. We have a wonderful local town (Ludlow) which is steeped in Hisotry - more listed buildings than any other market town in England. Tourism is flourshing in our town and we have a brilliant amount of independent shops/traders/markets. Because of its history and its beauty, Shropshire attracts so many artists whose work can be enjoyed throughout the county. We also have incredible gardens and houses to explore and learn from.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 541279116529