Live in an old olive mill and help DIY projects, outdoor activities and general mucking in Rabós, Spain

  • Spain
  • Favourited 7 times
  • Last activity: 20/10/2022

Availability

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a tiny family: 2 adults, 1 toddler, 1 dog living in a big, old olive mill in the catalan hills not far from the sea. We would like to share this unique space and have an extra pair of hands to complete projects now that our own hands are fuller with our little son! There are always projects, many outdoor and some domestic! The house is set within 6 hectares of land backing onto empty hillside. Underneath is a maze of vaulted cellars and walked rooms. It's an inspiring place to be. We're originally British, but moved here 3 years ago.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We make natural wine, we make vermouth and we are trying to increase the biodiversity and health of our plot of land. We have backgrounds in wine, food, anthropology and oral history and we are keen to inhabit and share and better this amazing space. There can be a magic to being here but it is also very rural. Work-awayers won't be involved in any commercial wine activity but if interested we can impart the knowledge we have and share home consumption projects!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Projects vary but could include: repairing old terraces, refreshing the beds in the vegetable garden, strimming, pruning olives, cutting wood, planting, building, maintaining the land or more domestic: painting, cooking, sorting, mucking in with family tasks, walking the dog. We take care of a small vineyard too. Carpentry skills would be incredibly welcome!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Catalan: Intermediate
    Italian: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There will be a large bedroom and private en suite bathroom for your use. It is removed from the part of the house where we sleep but close to the kitchen. As we are also caring for a small person it will probably work best to have breakfasts and lunches together but some suppers separately. We are omnivores but eat organically and we cool daily. Helping clear up meals would be essential.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The property is very rural, there is zero public transport so it would suit someone who likes walking in the beautiful landscape or had their own project to work on in their free time, or potentially has their own transport. We do, however, leave the house often!! So trips to girona or nearby villages would be possibe.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 538853718119

Photos

Feedback