San Francisco Bay area family of five seeks cultural exchange

Country

United States

Favourited 325 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/07/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    201

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an adventure loving family of five in Northern California. We currently homeschool our two youngest kids while our oldest is away at high school. We LOVE to travel and have done quite a bit in the past five years. We love workaway because for us it is the next best thing to travel. We have hosted about five different individuals over three years and all were great experiences. To this day we have kept in touch with all of them. :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in an exceptional part of California, close to hiking, the coast, the wine country, skiiing and San Francisco. We are warm and welcoming and look forward to making your travel experience the best it can be.

  • Help

    Help

    At this time, a French-speaking guest with a driver's licence would be best. (We have a car for use.) While our needs have been very different in the past, we really need help with driving now, getting kids to and from classes and sports. My daughter studies French and to have 30 minutes of conversational French each day would be great. She's super easy and an excellent student. Help with cooking and light housekeeping also ideal. While this may come as unexpected, a great candidate would be an independent traveler who enjoys getting out and exploring by themselves during the day, utilizing public transit. We love to have guests but don't have a full days work and so we'd like to know our guest is comfortable taking advantage of the surrounding community in their free time.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Guest room with private bath.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a short walk to downtown San Anselmo where there are lots of restaurants and cafes to choose from, as well as stores and a beautiful, small town library. In the opposite direction there is easy access to great hiking and biking trails that will take you up to Mount Tam, the gem of Marin. San Francisco is about 15 miles away, accessible by bus or the Larkspur Ferry. While public transit is available, it is not up to the standards of an urban area.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours/day, 5 days/week

We have three dogs
They earned their Junior Ranger badges at Yellowstone in 2014
Hiking in Joshua Tree
Picking blackberries near our house for jam.

Host ref number: 536948122139