Fun and busy ranch life in Alberta, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 215 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1170

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi I am seeking gardening and help moving things to my other farm. the sun is shining now and the summer is still there are things to do. .
    Looking for help Right Now on a small sheep farm (I sold off my flock these days...) and some ranch work as we are changing from my generation to the next. I ask to help in feeding 5 ewes, as lambing went very well . Now to market my remaining lambs. Learn and we can explore local area, in Alberta, Canada Your work involves feeding and cleaning, and housework, as well to attend community activities so you meet many new friends.

    Experienced former farmer and longtime member of the local community seeking help on a small hobby farm. I am active and fit and like to spend my days working outside. If you would like experience working on my farm, helping garden, painting my house, and to tidy and setting up vegetable gardens you will learn a lot. A long time ago I worked hard to earn my degree in agriculture. I have horses and cattle (only in summer) and there are lots of tractors, trucks, and other equipment that needs maintenance and repair, as I am selling down my property.

    I am always having trouble with new technology and would appreciate any computer help you can give me. I am trying to cope with Windows 10 and my ipad and my iphone and would love it if they recognize each other!

    I have travelled many countries and lived in Kenya, UK, Australia and Japan mostly on farm exchanges myself. I often take global farm guests on road trips to see and visit other ranches and farm people. I enjoy the company of others who like to learn about the land, the area, and work with animals and aren't afraid to get dirty.

    The work can be hard and very interesting , but so is life In the countryside. Your work and family time is within the Workaway guidelines. The sun sets late here in Alberta ( in summer) and we like to rest in front of an open fire under the stars listening to the coyotes at night.

    Expect to work 5 hours a day 5 days a week and enjoy my friends, family, neighbours and all the area has to offer the rest of the time. We will take day trips into the mountains for hikes and to the area towns to visit the local art gallery, shops and pub. I am 5 minutes from Turner Valley.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Rural Alberta offers spectacular views of the Rocky Mountains and the rolling foothills. I was raised in the area and my family is one of the original pioneer families. Most of my brothers still live farm and ranch in the area. I go hiking with a regular group often. The Town of Turner Valley is only 5 minutes away and there is a library, restaurants, shopping and lots of local culture. Pub night is Wednesday nights. I show my guests the countryside and the people, while they help and learn from my many projects on the go.

  • Help

    Help

    I am available to host right away at my small sheep hobby farm and some gardening an$ perhaps tree planting. We often celebrate family events together. I need someone who likes to work unsupervised on building projects so if you have carpentry skills I can put them to good use. I want help in completion of a sheep barn that other guests and I have been working on. It is not difficult and no former experience is necessary as we plan it together. General farm chores such as help on the sheep shearing crew, gardening and helping to cook fresh, healthy, local meals is part of your daily schedule. I am really in need of someone to help me with my computer skills.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Japanese limited French.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Either in the main ranch house or in a camper trailer nearby. We have a swimming pool sometimes available. We all share in household chores, and I am happy to teach you to saddle a horse yourself.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    many local nearby sights and we are part of a hiking group for Sunday day trips in the Rocky Mountains. Also if time permits, we can ride horses too.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week










Host ref number: 532195485224