Help me at my hobby ceramic studio and home in pretty Palmwoods, Australia

Country

Australia

new host  

Favourited 20 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/07/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My home is welcoming and creative, a tiny eco haven in a Queensland town. A home based hobby pottery and native garden with vegies and chooks... this place is also close to Sunshine Coast beaches and rainforests.

    I look forward to meeting people and sharing life stories, with a cup of tea or glass of wine, by the fire in winter and on the veranda in summer.
    Hello. I'm Kari, local to the stunning Sunshine Coast (Queensland, Australia) for more than 25 years, having been raised in Victoria, Australia.
    I have lived in Indonesia, and have traveled to France, Holland, Italy, Greece, UK, Ireland, and Timor Leste. Speaking fluent Indonesian and conversational French, plus a smattering of Greek, I welcome travellers from anywhere in the world.
    I run a little personal pottery from under my home, and am involved in the local arts community.
    I'm also a celebrant, conducting bespoke rituals and ceremonies for couples! And I dance tango.

    I have an extensive international family who have shared this place.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The hobby pottery produces gallery style stoneware ceramics on a small scale by Kari, locally known ceramic artist.
    Are you interested in art? Or music? A creative life? Helpers are welcome to play with clay while they are here.
    I often attend local music events and concerts by local musicians. There is a lot of talent around here, as artists are attracted to the lifestyle on the Sunshine Coast .

    Palmwoods town has a newly renovated vintage theme, with cafes, restaurants, village walk around feel, and all necessary shops. Our pottery is in coohee of the well touristed Hinterland Range, with rainforests, national parks, waterfalls, bush walks. In the other direction Palmwoods is fairly close to all the Sunshine Coast beaches, 15 minutes by car. Surf sand and sun most of the year. Public transport is available from 5 minutes walk away.

    Sometimes there is a ride to the beach! Other days to the hills.

  • Help

    Help

    Our pottery is a little home based studio located in the quaint railway village of Palmwoods, within walking distance of the train line and the village shops. This little pottery and ceramic art workshop rests under a classic traditional Queenslander style home, with a very small but native forest garden. Native animals visit regularly.

    Workaway tasks are usually house maintenance, gardening in the tiny urban native forest and edible garden beds or sometimes art related tasks.
    CURRENT jobs are around easy house painting type of activity. Let's put a lick of paint on some rails and doors.
    In your spare time, you could spend some time in the little pottery making things for yourself with clay. Or visiting local beaches and forest walks.

    Other duties may include some gardening, chook care and shared cooking, laughs and stories.
    Single or a couple... welcome.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Indonesian: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I'd love to learn Spanish and practise my French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The double bedroom is a private room in a shared home. There are also daybed and hammocks on the veranda for relaxing and listening to the birds most months of the year in this mild sub tropical climate. Also free access to wifi for leisure.
    Breakfast is provided for you to help yourself. Lunch is negotiated each day, and dinner is generally shared as a sit down meal. Part of your work could be preparing Dinner.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Sunshine Coast beaches and forests abound. There are many rainforest walks, waterfalls, national parks, camping, and surf beaches.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There is some wifi for gentle usage, but not fulltime work online.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is space on the roadside verge for a large vehicle.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 529262245827