French-English family with various garden and house projects. Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 6 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a lively family (2 adults and one 4 year old) who spend a great deal of time preparing whole foods, swing dancing, gardening, biking and socializing. We have hosted many guests through air bnb as well as always having a housemate. We value sharing an intentional low impact life, in our small house in Kentville, in the Annapolis Valley. This will be our second summer here, so we are still establishing gardens, mushroom logs and beehives. During summer we work hard and then prioritize swimming in nearby lakes, waterfalls and beaches. There is always a potluck or party to attend in our welcoming and extensive community. Selah works from home preparing gourmet organic food as a private chef, while Bruno works as a French and language arts teacher and teaches West African drumming in the community. You will often hear music in the house, either recorded or live. There is a great opportunity to practice French and English with adults and also our 4-year-old son Rumi.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have a great deal of knowledge concerning whole food preparation, Holistic nutrition, drumming and French and English language. We are also OK dancers that can teach you the basics of Lindy Hop Swing.

  • Help

    Help

    We have started some square foot gardens, a mighty compost and a small herb garden. We have started mushroom logs for shitakes and if we are feeling on top of the work around the house will introduce bee hives. There are always jobs in and out of the house, small carpentry jobs, painting, cleaning, chores, food prep (for the family and yourself) and occasional childcare.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French and English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A single or double size bed in a private room with a view of the garden. Shared bathroom and living space. We love to share evening meals or guests can prepare a meal themselves from the ingredients here and in the garden.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a small home (by today's North American standards), so we aim to be tidy, organized and minimal about acquiring stuff. We clean up every evening so we can start fresh the next day. We do not own a TV and prefer to spend our time reading or working and playing at our various projects and passions. We are very purposeful with our time and prefer to surround ourselves with others who enjoy being purposeful as well.

    We use one car and try to be organized about traveling so that we minimize it's unnecessary use. However trips for swimming are prioritized during our short but beautiful summer. There is a great bike trail very close by for extended day trips and a mountain biking trail at the end of our street.

    Our town is filled with wonderful opportunities to enjoy being outdoors. We enjoy trails and waterfalls in walking or biking distance. We have a delightful library, a weekly downtown farmers market with high-quality vendors, and a beautiful cider craft brewery. During summer we are often adventuring to lakes, rivers, beaches and waterfalls. There is an abundance of excellent food available at a variety of local farmers markets.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Living Room
Dinning Room
Backyard gardens
Front herb garden
Christmas 2018

Host ref number: 211324855429