Help on our sunny 7 acre horse farm in the beautiful Cowichan Valley, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 165 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    85

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple with an 8 year old daughter and 4 horses on a sunny 7 acre (3 hectare) horse farm. Our Natural Horsemanship business offers riding lessons, coaching and training. Our home is located on Vancouver Island (which is a 1.5 hour ferry ride from the city of Vancouver) in the beautiful Cowichan Valley, 5 minutes from the small city of Duncan and 1 hour from the city of Victoria. The property backs on to the Cowichan Valley Trail which connects to the Trans Canada Trail for endless hiking and biking. There is a swimming hole 5 minutes down the road. In the summer we enjoy sailing our 26' boat almost every weekend.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The horses are a big part of our daily life and we love to share our Natural Horsemanship approach with our helpers. We eat organic, natural, mostly vegetarian food and love to share our recipes and knowledge about our clean way of eating. Our daughter attends the local Waldorf school and we use a conscious parenting philosophy which includes no TV in the house or screen time or video games for our daughter.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help with with the horses which involves feeding, cleaning stalls, daily handling, grooming. We prefer to have helpers who have horse handling experience and who have leadership skills. We also need help with household chores, meal preparation as well as childcare for our 8 year old daughter. Help with gardening is also needed and there are some building projects that we'd love to tackle as well. We like to match the tasks to our helpers' abilities and interests.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Helpers stay in a bright ground floor bedroom with a separate entrance and private deck overlooking the apple and plum orchard. There is a semi-private bathroom and wash/dryer available. Our family sleeps upstairs so helpers enjoy privacy. Helpers share the kitchen and eat meals with our family. Tenting is also available. We are a 5 minute drive/15 min bike ride from downtown Duncan. We provide a bike you can use. There is a organic cafe across the road and a corner store 1km away. There is an outdoor fire pit by the pond and a labyrinth.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are happy to pick up helpers from Duncan and possibly from Victoria or Nanaimo. We are a 1 hr from Victoria and 45 min from Nanaimo. If you are coming from Vancouver you will take the BC Ferry to either Departure Bay (Nanaimo), Duke Point (Nanaimo) or Swartz Bay (Victoria). There is a city bus from Victoria to Duncan now. We ask our helpers to be motivated, must enjoy children, be respectful, not addicted to their cell phone, and not smoke or use drugs.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 525651431916